Skip to content

Disney Social Media Moms Celebration: Why Me?

December 3, 2010

If you have read this blog or know me, you probably are aware that I am a major Disney freak.  So when I heard that Disney was going to be putting on a Social Media Moms Celebration, I was all ears.  So, so sorry for the pun. 

2010 was the first year Disney hosted such an event.  I read a bit about it in the blogosphere because our author Chris Brogan participated.  I assumed it was invite only, and couldn’t imagine how someone could be so lucky as to get an invite to a shindig like that.  Attendees were put up at a deluxe resort, had meals and park tickets taken care of, and were treated to a wonderful family vacation while learning more about how to succeed in social media.  What could be better?

This year, I followed Twitter feeds that gave information about the event.  I learned that it would held in early 2o11 and registration would be sometime in the late fall.  Guests would be staying at the Grand Floridian, and would receive park tickets for the whole family.  Amazing speakers, great events, and time at Disney with the family, what wasn’t to like?

Soon, we all learned that registration would open at 2pm EST on December 2.  According to the site for the event, registration would be “first come, first served”.  They did however imply they were going to be asking questions about your blog traffic, Twitter followers, and Facebook friends.  Luckily, I was going to be in the office that day and could sneak away from meetings to try to sign up.

I got to my desk at 1:50 and went to the site.  It said it wasn’t up but would be soon.  So I waited.  2pm came and went and I still wasn’t in.  I was starting to get nervous.  I opened 2 other windows.   Nothing.  Until 2:10 when I got into the site and completed registration by 2:18.

I hopped onto Twitter and noticed there were a lot of folks getting anxious about the whole process.  Understandable.  Even though we had all “registered” we were told registrations would need to be verified.  I panicked, thinking my blog traffic and Twitter influence would simply not be up to snuff. 

December 3 became more than my birthday.  It was the day I was obsessively checking email for that confirmation.  Or the big NO.

You can only imagine my joy when I saw that I had indeed been accepted into the conference.  I called my mom and let her know that she was getting to go with me next March.  To stay in the hotel we’ve always dreamed about staying in, lest for the cost. 

Next, I hopped on Twitter.  I imagined that there would be Tweets of all kinds – happy tweets, jealous tweets, angry tweets, ungrateful tweets, and everything in between.

Sadly, I was right.  It made me sad, thinking about how much people were invested in this, and was it really worth it for all the agony it brought them when they didn’t make it. 

Certainly I hoped I would get in.  But I didn’t know the odds, so I didn’t get my hopes up.  And other than my mom, no one in the family knew it was even a glimmer of a possibility.  It wasn’t until yesterday that I dared to dream, knowing full well that my hopes could easily be dashed as they could be lifted.

Hearing about moms who told their kids weeks before that this was going to happen, showing them pictures of the resorts online and talking about how great the trip WOULD be, way before the trip was even a possibility, make me sad.  Hearing these moms get mad at Disney and talking about how heartbreaking it is make me mad.  That’s not the fault of anyone at Disney.  Counting your chickens before they are hatched is saying, no?

Would I be saying that if I wasn’t picked?  Absolutely.  If I didn’t get in, I would be upset and a little jealous, but I’d like to think that I was raised to be (outwardly at least) happy for those who got in and wouldn’t be all riled about it on the interwebs.  I don’t think I would have called out Disney to explain the criteria for who got in and who didn’t.  Now more people are jumping on the hashtag to partake in the drama and call out “mom bloggers” for bad behavior…can’t wait for that to die down. 

So, why me?  Why not me?  I have no idea how I made the cut and how others didn’t.  I’m happy that I got in, and am feeling very blessed and very grateful, while genuinely sad for those who won’t be joining us in Orlando next month. 

If you are going, introduce yourself so I can have a friend before I go.  Now that I am able to dare to dream, you can bet I will.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2010 8:54 pm

    Nice post. Doesn’t mater why we made it (my stats are small too) but it looks like we made it, so feel free to celebrate! I look forward to meeting you in March 😀

  2. December 3, 2010 8:55 pm

    Such a great post and exactly how I feel. I have no clue how I made it in. I don’t know what they were looking for. But I’m so grateful that I get to network and learn how to grow my blog at my favorite place in the World.

    I wish people were not being so mean and negative. I can not imagine being mean if I didn’t make it. Sad and maybe a little heartbroken but not mean.

    I also can’t imagine telling my kids beforehand and getting them excited. What a let down.

    I’ll be excited to meet you though! 😉

  3. December 3, 2010 8:56 pm

    Kristen and Melissa – two new friends! Welcome. Can’t wait to meet you in person.

  4. December 3, 2010 9:00 pm

    Hi Ellen – Great post! Can’t wait to meet you in March – I’ll be there too!

    I’m also your newest Twitter follower – @CarrieWChildren. I look forward to chatting with you!

  5. December 3, 2010 9:00 pm

    First of all, CONGRATS! I think it’s truly a wonderful opportunity and I’m so happy for all that made it in! I hope to be so lucky next year!

    However, I do think that there’s a distinction to be made between the two types of drama going on on the Twitter stream. First, there were the moms who wanted Disney to have disclosed the criteria from the start (myself included…I said that before I didn’t in, as well). Second, there were the people taking their frustration out on the moms who did get in! The latter is absolutley unacceptable. The former, however, perfectly understandable. Disney should be upfront and honest about their rules and policies regarding DisneySMMoms.

    I do, of course, agree with you about moms who told their kids it was a sure thing only to dash their hopes later. That is not the case in my family because my son is too young to know the difference (4 months). The only one with dashed hopes is me…I was truly looking forward to the learning and networking experience. Again, maybe next year.

    Congrats to you and to all the 2011 DisneySMMoms! You are sure to have a wonderfully magical time!

  6. December 3, 2010 9:01 pm

    Nicely recapped, and with a dose of logic and appreciation fir randomness. They coexist often, and in this process, there was just no way all would be content with the decision handling. I will see you and yours there, and if they’re aiming Yo outdo last year, the bar is astronomically high. 🙂

  7. December 3, 2010 9:03 pm

    Hi Carrie – checking to make sure I’m following you. Thanks for stopping by.

    Lindsay, I do agree that there are levels to what is being said on Twitter. I’m kind of curious as to when if ever Disney will put a response out there outlying the criteria. They have to know that if something like this happens that involves hurt feelings, it’s going to be everywhere in minutes. That doesn’t take away from those who got in, but helps explain to those who didn’t what exactly happened.

    • December 4, 2010 10:41 am

      I 100% agree! 🙂 Have a blast…can’t wait to read all about it!

  8. December 3, 2010 9:07 pm

    RNRMama, I expect we should try and find a nite out to catch up. Been woefully ignoring you, through no fault other than a crappy fall and too little time. A glass of wine at a Disney bar might work nicely?

    • December 3, 2010 9:55 pm

      I feel ya, Dawg- Danny was on tour for 2 months, all 3 kids started new respective schools, I tore my rotator cuff and my house had a flood that took out an 8 by 8 section of kitchen ceding. SOOO happy to see the backside of fall. BUT we got a puppy, and his habit of eating my electronic peripherals keeps me distracted from any other nonsense.

      So YES to the bah, and I wish to hear deets of your Asian trip recapped with menu notes, por favor. 🙂

  9. December 3, 2010 11:50 pm

    I totally agree with Lindsay. I didn’t get chosen mostly because in the hour of my time I had to register I got kicked out 4 times by that stupid spinning circle. So I knew there was no way they would choose me – but I am incredibly disapointed with the way Disney handled the whole thing from start to finish. I’m not upset or angry and the moms who did get in – that would be stupid – but I think a company like Disney should know better. I had a really disapointing interaction with their brand – which I’m going to remember for a while.

  10. December 3, 2010 11:54 pm

    I just want to say ‘Hi’ and hope we will meet at DisneySMMoms. 🙂 This will be my first year too and I had the same feeling as you when I first heard about the event. I didn’t even get on Twitter to tweet that I got it because of the backlash I afraid it would happen. I also don’t know why I got in if it wasn’t for the time because I’m not even close of being a big blogger. But I’m counting my blessing ot be able to stay at Disney resorts for the first time with my family! 🙂

  11. December 4, 2010 9:52 am

    Hello there!
    Great post. Very well written.
    The whole thing was heart wrenching to watch on Twitter. I was chosen too and I feel torn. We live in Florida and go to Disney often.
    I REALLY don’t think it was a numbers thing like some say. I don’t have TONS of followers and I even messed up on my ‘impression’ number on the ap.
    I’m just very thankful we got in. A huge blessing.
    Looking forward to meeting you. I’m following your tweets and your blog now.

  12. December 4, 2010 12:41 pm

    Ellen, This is such a great post… you wrapped up everything I am feeling in such a great way. I am so happy that I get to go, but don’t understand why I was chosen and some others were not.
    I am so saddened for those who really wanted to go and didn’t but cannot understand why people would tell their kids or make travel arrangements before they had a confirmation.
    I am also sickened by those that are on Twitter and taking it out on Disney and the people who were lucky enough to get picked. I have been trying to be as kind to people on Twitter as possible, but have now just decided to stay off the feed as it is just too painful.
    I only hope Disney doesn’t decide to stop this event because of a few nasty bloggers.
    Thank you for introducing yourself, I really look forward to meeting you!

  13. December 4, 2010 2:04 pm

    Lorie, Amy, Mikki, thanks for stopping by. I’m happy I’ll meet some of you soon

    Emily, I hope we’ll get the chance to meet someday…maybe at another Disney event, or another social media function.

  14. December 4, 2010 2:19 pm

    I echo your sentiments! In fact, I had the same experience of finding out about the conference last year and wondering how anyone could be so fortunate as to be included, and stalked the hashtag all year until the posts started happening a few months ago.

    I don’t know how I got in, but I’m so grateful that I did.
    I kind of hope they DON’T put the criteria out there, because I don’t want any Negative Nellies critiquing and arguing why I shouldn’t be included and they should. That fear kept me from celebrating online most of the day, in fact. I wouldn’t be surprised if a system glitch allowed more than the allotted amount to get registered, so they randomly picked from among everyone who’s registration/application went through. It has to be random, nothing else makes any sense to me.
    I am so deeply grateful that I get to go. I’m really looking forward to meeting all of you. I really like the idea of starting a new hashtag, as some have suggested, to start fresh and move forward with only positive energy.
    Cheers, gals!
    -Krista
    @kristalswan
    facebook: Krista Swan

  15. December 4, 2010 4:05 pm

    Ellen, I was part of the whole deal, too – meaning I was watching and waiting and trying to figure out how it was happening and when and curious and interested to see how it evolved and changed as time went on in terms of invite v registrations v applications. I am lucky enough to get in, and I’m thrilled to go and see people again and meet new ones and – of course – to learn tons and tons.

    That said, I was prepared for the “no” email and was ready to deal with that and be sad and move on – since no one but my mom and I knew that we were trying to for it. I’m with you on the chickens, and I do feel so badly for all the children who are disappointed now. The adults, too, but especially the children.

  16. December 5, 2010 4:15 pm

    I feel the same way you do–I’m not sure how I got in, but I did. I have ok stats, and I got registered early. This will be my first year with the conference, though my family was there last year in May. I love Disney World and am looking forward to this–and meeting you!

  17. December 15, 2010 1:08 am

    It definitely was sad to see how everything turned out but hopefully next year will be different for all of us if Disney still wants to do it after all this furor. I would love to meet you and those who are going next year.

  18. January 13, 2011 3:09 am

    Hi! I made it too! I was trying and trying to fill that form and the orange circle was killing me…Finally I made it!
    We’re going, this will be the first time for us! But I’m sure it will be great!
    See you there!

Leave a Reply

