Skip to content

Merry Happy – The Wheeled Edition

December 2, 2010

 Having a boy is a wonderful thing.  It’s not just snips and snails and puppy dog tails.  It’s not just the whole family running around trying to put together all the tools in his Handy Manny toy toolbox.  The big and the small one.  What would an evening in the IT household be without someone screaming, “I found Big Pat!  Where’s Little Squeeze?”

Really, one of  the most fun things about having a boy is the all of  VEHICLES that his world demands.  Soccer Girl could have been hit over the head with a tractor dipped in pink and glitter and she still wouldn’t have noticed it.  But IT Boy cannot deny his love for things wheeled.  He loves cars, trucks, tankers, tractors, whatever.  Things I never played with as a kid, but give him so much pleasure.

Hess is a service station chain that’s here in NY and NJ.  Probably other places too, but I’m a Girl at heart, and don’t really notice what station I am filling up at.  Unless it’s the holiday season.  That’s when I seek out Hess because of their Hess Trucks.

Since 1964, Hess stations have sold a Hess-branded vehicle of some sort for holiday gift giving.  They’re good quality and reasonably priced, and a fun thing to start a holiday tradition with.  Last year was Boy’s first Hess car – it was a race car with a small race car nested in it.  This year, it’s the flatbed truck with jet (JET!) pictured above.  He’s getting it tonight for the second night of Hanukkah – I was out with colleagues last night, so the family had to suffer through another night for their gifts. No matter.   He’s going to love it.

But do you know the best part of a Hess toy is?

They come with batteries.

LOVE!

What’s under your menorah or tree this year to start or continue your family traditions?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kathryn permalink
    December 2, 2010 9:44 pm

    My parents, oh, sorry, SANTA gave my brother a Hess truck every year when we were growing up, and we’ve started that this year with my son. But I had to laugh, Ellen, because he never forgets to remind me, and I quote, “Some toys don’t come with batteries, Mommy, but the Hess truck–batteries are INCLUDED!”

    Growing up, we always received an ornament with our name and the year on it. These ornaments now decorate my tree, and are a very special part of our holiday. As each new child enters my life, be it my own or my nieces and nephews, I make sure that they also receive an ornament with their name and the year on it, and the wish that the ornaments will one day decorate their trees.

  2. December 2, 2010 9:46 pm

    I love the ornament idea. We do that too, but our version happens after the holidays when they are half priced. 🙂

  3. December 2, 2010 10:55 pm

    Ah! My dad bought one for my son this year and I know he’s going to LOVE it. He can never have enough trucks and cars.

    I remember my brothers getting these as kids, and those catchy commercial tunes!

Leave a Reply

