Skip to content

Daddy Blogger ≠ Mommy Blogger, plus a book giveaway

November 2, 2010

image courtesy of Cafe Press

Recently, I read a post by CC Chapman entitled “I’m a Dad and Damn Proud of It.”  Certainly, it was a great post talking about what he feels is the most important role that he plays, which would be father to his kids. 

In the post, he goes on to talk about why “Daddy Bloggers”, a term he initally resisted but has warmed to, aren’t taken as seriously by brands and the media as mommybloggers.  He then signals the start of his quest to get more brands to pay attention to Daddy Bloggers and see them in the same light as their female counterparts.

I was very conflicted when I first read this post.  (Full disclosure – CC just released a book through my company and we spoke on a panel at BlogWorld Expo last month.)   My inital thought was, are you kidding me?  Men have control EVERY other sandbox in the world, and now you want to take over this little part of the playground where we have been able to make an impact and be heard?  Can’t you just leave this the interwebs alone?   Surely, a melodramatic and reactionary reaction, but hey, this is my sandbox. 

Then I stopped rolling my eyes and thought about it more.  He does have a point.  Yet, I don’t see the Daddy Bloggers taking over and kicking any Mommy Bloggers out of power.  As if the power that MBs have is something to covet.  I think there is a role for Daddy Blogger, but I don’t see them ever being top dog in the blogosphere.

Brands looking at bloggers want to know if the blogger is influential and how many people of quality that blogger influences.  If the role of the Daddy Blogger is to relate to other dads, I wonder how much of their readership is male?  Most men I know will read TechCrunch, Mashable (I do hang with the geeks) or ESPN, not a blog.  Certainly the man I know the most, aka Mr. IT, doesn’t read any blogs.  I’m lucky he turns on his Blackberry when he leaves the house.  Women, by far, seem to read more blogs than men in my world.  So if a brand is looking for a male to be talking to a female audience, bingo.  I think there is a role for the male blogger who is talking to women but if the message is aimed at men, I’m not sure the Daddy Blogger is the best person to give it out.

Why is that?  Three words – WORD OF MOUTH.  Women are simply much better at the game of WoM marketing than men are.  It’s the same reason that we’re stereotypically portrayed as gabby and gossipy – while we’re chatting about that mom who pushed to the front of the carpool line at school, we’re also talking about the new restaurant we just ate at, the new jeans we simply love, and the sale at that local boutique that sells the sweaters that are to. die. for.   It’s why Mommy Bloggers have the power that they do.  Brands know that these women are eager to try new products and will tell everyone when they like something.  It’s what women do, and at least for some, comes off quite naturally. 

CC has a point in that brands shouldn’t ignore dads/men when it comes to looking for advocates.  The engagement will be different and so will the impact.  Greater or lesser will depend on the product, but overall, I don’t expect Mommy Bloggers to be out of a job anytime soon.

In any case, whoever you are, if you aren’t reading CC’s blog and following him socially, do so immediately.  Not only is he smart and thought-provoking, he’s a NICE GUY.  His book, Content Rules is published and available now from, as they say in the UK, all good bookstores.  Co-written with Ann Handley of Marketing Profs, it’s a must-read for any blogger wondering how to take their blog to the next level, if the next level is good content that people want to read, hear or watch.  I have one copy of the book to give away – post a comment below and I’ll choose a winner on Friday at 9am Eastern.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2010 12:29 pm

    Thanks for this post and you hit the point I was trying to make directly on the head.

    This isn’t about any form of us vs. them. It is about something that has bothered me a long time and that is the way Fathers are perceived by the media and the world at large. This is about a lot more than advertising dollars and who kisses up to who.

    As someone who makes a living consulting companies on how best to spend their marketing dollars, I want to make sure that when appropriate for their brand that they don’t forget about the Dad market.

    And VERY cool of you to give a copy of the book away. That was a nice surprise!

  2. November 2, 2010 12:32 pm

    Hey Ellen – I don’t see this as an either/or situation. WOM transcends gender. I think you underestimate who is better at WOM. Guys talk to other guys constantly – in fact they are probably more likely to read about something and then talk about it than actually comment. In my fraternity in college (yep, before the Age of Blogging) there were debates about best deodorant, razors, SUVs, golf clubs, you name it.

    I’d love to see an orchestrated contest between the genders – in good fun of course.

  3. November 2, 2010 1:13 pm

    Ellen, glad to have found your site via a tweet from @marketingprofs! Oh, the wonders of how information gets around in the digital age, eh?

    I would LOVE the copy of Ann and CC’s new book, Content Rules! It sounds very comprehensive and I’ve followed them both for awhile now. And, of course, I’m a stickler for giving credit so when I write a book review on my blog, I would absolutely, positively, give credit to you and Confessions Of An IT Girl!

    Gonna go read some other posts of yours as long as I’m here…

    Amber @wordsdonewrite

  4. November 2, 2010 1:30 pm

    Ellen, I’m also grateful to have found your site via @marketingprofs!

    I could not agree more about the value of Word-of-Mouth, especially how it can hurt one if they are not careful. 🙂

  5. Cynthia Scot permalink
    November 2, 2010 2:03 pm

    Greetings Ellen!

    I’m with Adam (above) on the WOM thing. I think women seem more naturally the type to talk about a variety of things and get the word out about things they love, but if a product is relevant to him, a guy is just as good at passing the word. My boyfriend is a master of referral. He’s sent more people to more businesses than any other person (man or woman) that I know.

    Regarding the book giveaway, I am personally new to the blogging gig. I found out about your giveaway while researching what to buy in the process of planning my first blog/information website. I’m not working right now (quit my job because I’m sure there’s a better road for me in life) and need to stretch the little savings I have as far as possible.

    I look forward w/great anticipation to what the world of internet marketing has to offer me.

    Regards,
    Cynthia Scott

  6. November 2, 2010 2:46 pm

    I don’t think Ellen’s point was that men aren’t good at WOM, because they are, it’s that women are far more influential when it comes to motivating others to actually shop. Data from tons of ecommerce companies clearly show this. Most consumers of major ecommerce companies skew in favor of female consumers. While Average Order Sizes for men would tend to be higher ( because of consumer electronics purchases), women by far make more purchases (in terms of quantity). I know that I would spend more of my time targeting ‘mommy bloggers’ rather than daddy bloggers.

  7. November 2, 2010 3:29 pm

    I believe the target audience is determined by the product you are marketing. There are some great mommy bloggers out there (my niece is one of them – http://bebehblog.com/ – sorry, couldn’t resist the shameless plug for her).

    Daddy bloggers just haven’t developed as rapidly and efficiently (and creatively, I would argue) as mommy bloggers. I’m a good example of that with my developing site (http://sstofflet.wordpress.com/ – sorry, another shameless plug) called (b)logout. I’m just getting my feet wet, and recently went back to school at Michigan State University, taking their New Media Driver’s License course (educational link: http://www.newmediadl.com ) to get up to speed on the whole concept of writing online for pleasure.

    Would love to read the book… but am definitely going to be sticking around your site, too… drawn by a referral from above-mentioned MSU course and Twitter.

  8. November 2, 2010 5:08 pm

    I have to say my husband is a blogger and a voracious reader of blogs. But he’s a soldier and tends to read blogs by other soldiers and by freelance journalists. He has a hard time writing when he’s not deployed because he’s not sure he has anything interesting to say, plus his readership definitely drops off.

    He might read a daddy blog if he was a daddy. But I think guns and games and politics and drums are really the areas where he’s ready to hang out. He probably prefers forums to blogs.

    Many of his friends will watch someone on YouTube talk about something they just bought, but would never read a blog post about it.

    So I think men are out there, it’s just that they are reading different content and their preferred social media is not blogs. When it comes to WOM, I hear them talking forums and videos, not blogs.

  9. rebecca mckinnon permalink
    November 3, 2010 1:51 pm

    Interesting article! I too stumbled upon your blog through @MarketingProfs and enjoyed reading your thoughts on daddy bloggers. I agree that mommy bloggers, and women in general, tend to talk more, and to more people, about their personal experiences relating to brands and products. However, I do believe that the dads out there should have a voice, especially if they want one.

    In my experience, people like blogs because they enjoy reading personal accounts of people who have the same interests as themselves. Even if they don’t always agree, it is always nice to be able to relate to someone. This concept is what makes the influence of mommy bloggers so lucrative. In most cases, the women are the ones familiar with the day-to-day brands and actually purchasing most products. However, the daddy bloggers might have found their advertising niche when it comes to the electronics/tech industry. It may sound stereotypical, but these are the products that most men have an interest in and therefore, daddy bloggers may be able to gain some advertising influence.

  10. November 3, 2010 3:32 pm

    Thanks CC – lots of interest in the book, which is great!

    Adam – you have me thinking of some sort of mom vs dad blogger shootout. Let’s think more about how to make this happen.

    Amber, Jenna, Cynthia – thanks for stopping by! I’ll be sure to check out your blogs as well.

    Rebecca – interesting perspective on the tech thing. I find most of the tech blogs I read are written by men, so there is defintiely something to what you are saying. the lone exception that doesn’t come in pink and ruffles is Cool Mom Tech, and that’s the mom angle as well.

    T-jam – your husband does more than mine does online. #youwin

  11. November 4, 2010 2:58 pm

    here, here. certainly there’s room in the sandbox for all. 🙂

  12. November 4, 2010 4:07 pm

    Luv this stuff! Creating good content is key for any blogger or social media mavin. Thanks for the post and chance to win CC & Ann’s book.

    Keep blogging!
    -E

  13. November 4, 2010 4:34 pm

    When I was in grad school studying international economic development, it was taken as a given, based on overwhelming evidence, that nutritional outcomes and overall child welfare improve when women control at least some of the cash income of a household. Perhaps this same principle is at work in the households of the developed world and in the unique influence of Mommy Bloggers. 🙂

    As an aside, ‘Mommy Blogger’ seems to be used here as a blanket term to also cover women bloggers that are not moms. I wonder what is the proper term for women bloggers that do not have kids.

    And BTW, I’d love to get a copy of Content Rules.

  14. November 14, 2010 3:10 am

    I know this: my wife will ask a question about diapers on Facebook, and legions of her female friends will chime in with various tips, tricks, bargains, etc.

    If I post about diapers I get about three wisecracks from my male friends and maybe one “aw, you’re cute” from one of my female friends.

    Dads aren’t yet taken seriously about products for kids. Hell, we’re barely taken seriously about having thoughts for or caring about kids.

    That’s changing. We can help change it.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Daddy Blogger ≠ Mommy Blogger, plus a book giveaway « ConfessionsOfAnITGirl.com -- Topsy.com
  2. Airborne Baby | TheDaddyBlogger.com

Leave a Reply

