Skip to content

Twitter etiquette – Twittiquette?

October 25, 2010
tags:

Hello citizens of the Interwebs…

Miss Manners is calling!

I’m genuinely interested in what people think about the following…

Does Twitter etiquette dictate that you must acknowledge follows?

…with a DM?

…with an auto-DM?

…at all?

Nothing annoys me like the reply email (especially the dreaded “reply-all”) email that says “Thanks!” and nothing but.  I kind of feel that way about Twitter too, but maybe I’m just too cold and callous.  What do you think?  What else about Twittiquette do you feel is a must/must not do?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2010 3:09 pm

    I do not think that a random follow requires a “thank you” or any sort of acknowledgement.
    But if someone follows me because we were just on a conference call or webinar together, or I met them at a conference or other F2F event, then, yes, I do acknowledge (and follow back).

  2. October 25, 2010 3:49 pm

    Barbara, I think that’s a great rule of thumb. I’m getting bombarded by auto follows and it’s leaving me a bit icked out.

  3. October 25, 2010 4:16 pm

    I agree with Barbara. At least half the follows I get (and it’s not a big number overall) are from people I’ve never ever met (e.g. they may be interested in soccer and found me on a list, or maybe…just spammers). Those folks don’t get a peep from me.

    If I’ve met them, however, even if it was just for a moment, then they get a follow back. DMs I usually save for someone I know fairly well.

    So, short answer: the response is commensurate with my relationship to the person.

  4. October 25, 2010 9:20 pm

    I’ve turned off notifications of new followers, so I have no idea how many autofollowers or junk followers I have. I don’t really pay attention, though I’ll glance at the number if I visit the Twitter home page for some reason instead of using Tweetdeck. So, basically I don’t acknowledge anyone! I bet that makes me really popular 🙂

  5. October 26, 2010 10:07 am

    Never an auto DM, never never never never. That results in an unfollow from most of the people I know. I usually don’t do anything, unless it’s somebody I’m totally shocked has started following me, and I feel I need to say something.

  6. Karen Hobbs permalink
    October 27, 2010 10:39 am

    http://www.ehow.com/blog/

    ……has a lot to say about the do’s and don’ts of twittering.
    Personally, I like the advice about self publicity and banality! Life is too short for Fbooking…let alone reading others opinions about minutiae!
    Karen

Leave a Reply

