Skip to content

Books: Not dead, and do you want to write one?

September 22, 2010

As I mentioned in my previous post, I am going to be a speaker at BlogWorld Expo for not one but two panels.  The first panel I talked about here.  My second panel is titled “From Blog to Book” and could probably be subtitled “And everything in between.” 

Probably every blogger has thought about publishing their work in printed form at one time or another.  There are many ways to do this, from working with an established publishing house to self publishing, to everything in between.  This isn’t a one size fits all proposition, and it’s certainly not for everyone.  For those who can benefit, it’s a great way to create a calling card for your work.  For others, it can spread a message far and wide. 

In this session, we’re going to talk about why do some bloggers become authors, while others can’t get a contract? What do publishing companies look for when trying to sign authors?  And how an author needs a platform before, during and after the writing of the book. 

My fellow panelists are Brian Solis (Wiley author), Warren Whitlock and Simon Salt.  I’m not sure I will be the most stylish, but I will be taking pains to avoid being the least.   

Just like for my other panel, I need feedback on what people want to hear, and what we should and shouldn’t cover.  Use the comments below or at the BWE site.

Leave a Reply

