Skip to content

GAP Magic? No, just GAP ROI.

September 10, 2010

Last month, I attended the BlogHer Annual Conference in NYC.  Among other things, and maybe first and foremost, it’s a great place to catch up with friends and fellow bloggers that I don’t see all the time.

One person in that category is Susan Getgood.  Always happy to see Susan, I had to remark when I saw her how smart she was dressed.  She in turn told me that her look was courtesy of Gap brands.  Gap, in a bit of social media genius, reached out the speakers at the BlogHer conference and offered them a free styling and 2 complimentary outfits, no strings attached.  You can read about the promotion here and here

Susan thought this promotion was all that and a bag of chips, and not just because she was the beneficiary of some great outfits (and a really cute bag – did I mention the bag?).  It was a smart way to engage some very key influencers at the conference.  You didn’t have to wear the outfits, although having someone style you in outfits that play up your strengths gives you confidence, and what speaker doesn’t want a bit of confidence?  I don’t know how many speakers wore their outfits, but overall the promotion seemed to be a success.

So I got to thinking.  I will be speaking at BlogWorld Expo next month.  Twice in fact.  My “professional looking outfit” is now my fat suit – I bought a great jacket and matching skirt at Talbots, but then lost weight, so the outfit doesn’t fit in the least.  Maybe, I thought,  I should check out the Gap near me and see what might work for me when I go to BlogWorld…

It was as productive visit.  First, I had to get the jeans that I saw Shannon Rosa wearing.  I couldn’t find them on the web site but she is wearing them in a photo from her blog that I really hope she doesn’t mind my borrowing…

Cool jeans, second from left

Adorable, even if you can’t tell in the picture.  They’re skinny jeans which roll up, and have the cutest pattern that shows out. 

Jeans were full price for the first, $20 for the second, so of course I bought a second.  I bought the same 1969 Long and Lean jean that I received for free a year ago with my BlogHer coupon. 

Next, I decided to go for a more professional look

That's me, looking all professional

Cardigan, purple blouse, and perfect pants.  I used my Groupon, which made it all worthwhile.  I got some jeans that I know work for me, and a super professional outfit that I used to take my headshots for the BlogWorld Expo web site.  

Gap hasn’t been on my radar for a while, but I will definitely be checking them out more often when I want professional not just casual looking clothes.   The promotion worked, in more than one way…it got me in the store and changed my view of the retailer.  Plus, I loved loved LOVED that they had a Groupon last month.  What more could I want.  Count me in for some of that ROI.

Disclaimer: I received free jeans last year from the Gap.  I received nothing free this year from them. I purchased all the items detailed using my own funds.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

