Skip to content

Webcam giveaway!

July 8, 2010

I’m sure if E.T. were made today, E.T would be phoning home with aid of a web cam.  Who wouldn’t prefer a chat with someone face to face over a muffled audio-only conversation?  IT Boy’s not his best on the phone.  He really hasn’t figured out that someone is on the other end of the phone, not miniaturized into the contraption. 

I’m going to Asia on business for the next two weeks.  Rather than worrying about what’s the right time for a phone call, I’m going to be bringing my webcam so I can beam into my home computer and chat with my family.  I’m really looking forward to this.  It will be great for the Boy to see me, and I can’t wait to see how his cuddlyness looks from half a planet away.

My webcam at home came courtesy of the good folks at Logitech.  They hosted a mom blogger event several months back that I attended.  The main purpose of the event was to introduce people to their Skype competitor Logitech Vid.  After using both I can honestly say that Vid is a lot easier to manipulate, had fewer delays between audio and video, and provided much clearer sound than Skype.  Very happy with the product and I will certainly be using it on my trip.

You can be happy with it too…the Logitech folks gave me a second webcam to give away on my blog.  It’s the Logitech QuickCam Vision Pro for Mac (yes, that’s right, Mac, not PC, MAC) and it retails for $99.   You can see it in the thumbnail at the top of this post. 

To enter – simply comment on this post and I will select a winner on July 23.   Enter only once, please.  I’m not responsible if you put in the wrong email address or cause my contacting you to be otherwise misdirected.

Good luck, and hopefully I’ll be seeing you on Vid soon!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Jack T. permalink
    July 8, 2010 3:25 pm

    Yes, please enter me!

  2. Adaobi permalink
    July 8, 2010 5:10 pm

    Hugs and kisses for the Boy from half a world away. It’s like a Hallmark commercial.

    What the heck, enter me, too. My husband would pass out from the excitement.

  3. anthy permalink
    July 8, 2010 5:54 pm

    I’d love to win this for my nephew – he just bought a Macbook Pro for university.

    Thank you for the giveaway!

  4. toekneebee permalink
    July 9, 2010 4:35 pm

    Loved the ET angle at the beginning of this post. I can’t believe some webcam company hasn’t used that in an ad! Please consider this my entry.

  5. July 9, 2010 4:36 pm

    Awesome. Need to keep up with my friends around the globe. xo

  6. July 9, 2010 4:43 pm

    I would love a chance to win this webcam…enter me please.

  7. Catherine Marshall permalink
    July 9, 2010 9:35 pm

    Ellen,

    great idea. We set up a Webcam for my inlaws to chat with my boys but I’ve never thought to use it while I’m away on business. Great idea.

  8. Take One Picture permalink
    July 12, 2010 10:30 am

    Interesting read … Take One Picture.

  9. Doris permalink
    July 16, 2010 8:02 pm

    Even tho I am not ET, I still enjoyed our international chats.
    So did IT-Boy, but he actuallly got a real big kick out of seeing himself in the picture.
    So maybe a mirror for him and a webcam for me?
    Doris xox

  10. Tashai Ward permalink
    July 23, 2010 10:35 pm

    PLEEZE I NEED A WEBCAM SO BAD, MY AUNT JUST TOLD ME ABOUT THIS TODAY. MY FATHER WAS DEPLOYED TO AFGHANISTAN AND I HARDLY EVER GET TO TALK TO HIM. I REALLY REALLY NEED THIS THE MOST PLEASE CONSIDER ME. MY NAME IS TASHAI WARD

  11. Henry permalink
    July 26, 2010 12:43 am

    Would love to win this webcam!

  12. March 24, 2011 7:15 pm

    that a nice web cam need one really bad
    i wish i could have that

Leave a Reply

