Skip to content

Homesicky

June 27, 2010

One last hug from Daddy...

Soccer Girl left for camp this morning.  Approximately 1 hour and 48 minutes ago.  But I’m not really counting.

Last year, she went for 3 weeks and loved it.  Really wanted to go for a longer session this year, which meant 4 weeks or 7 weeks.  We hemmed and hawed a bit, but when we realized that I would miss the first visiting day due to a work trip, she decided then and there she wanted to go for the full 7 week session so I could still attend a visiting day.  If you ask me, she knew full well that parental guilt would kick in and I’d be forced to say yes.  Which I did.

Seven weeks are a long time to be away, but in truth, it’s better for her in many ways.  I work full-time as does Mr. IT, so she’d come home just to be placed in various forms of day care and week-long camp adventures.  She’d much rather be hanging out with her camp friends.  I’m able to take off the time in August when she’s home, so I feel like quality time wins out over quantity in this case.

Two nights before she left was when the jitters really set in.  She was nervous about leaving, which is understandable for a 10-year-old girl to feel that way. 

We talked a lot about separation anxiety and how it’s normal to experience it.  I told her quite frankly that I feel that way before I leave for a trip, however long.  To counteract it, I try to focus on the good times I’m going to have on a trip.  Sometimes it’s easy, like when I had some meetings in San Francisco and got to go to a Giants game.  Sometimes, I have to work a little harder, like when I go to Indianapolis (no offense to my peeps there, but Fishers IN isn’t exactly a hotspot of activity.  Usually, I think about having quiet time in my hotel room to read.  But no matter, I try to think about what fun is awaiting me, and that makes leaving easier.  It seemed to make her feel better, especially since I took her concern seriously and didn’t minimize it off.

This summer I am going on a major trip – one week in Penang Malaysia for our Asian territory sales meeting, and then a week in Singapore working with colleagues in that office.  I’ve never been to either of these places, much less Asia, so I’m particularly excited.  Not just for the time in a new place, but meeting new people and having unique experiences.  I’m lucky to be going with another woman from the US, so we’ll have a good point of reference in each other.  Sure, there are a few jitters about leaving the husband and the little man, but I consider myself so lucky to have been given this opportunity that I would be a fool to turn it down. 

Here’s hoping for a great summer at camp for the Girl, and great adventures for the rest of us!

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 28, 2010 11:58 am

    I’m so excited for you both as you will no-doubt have stories to share together- your daughter about camp and you about Malaysia. What a fabulous opportunity for both of you to share what it’s like to be an independent girl! : )

Leave a Reply

