Skip to content

The On Switch has been thrown

March 29, 2010

For those fans of IT Boy, an update.  I really haven’t talked about him much lately (well, I haven’t talked about much of ANYTHING lately) but that isn’t because things are going badly.  On the contrary, things are going great.  His language has exploded over the past few months.  There are some times when he is talking so much I have to search his back to see if I can find the off switch.  Not that I really want to – I’m so happy he’s making progress.  He’s making smaller gains in PT and OT, but still, he’s moving in the right direction. 

Something that we are adding to his menu of services is a social skills class.  Essentially, it’s a setting where he interacts with a small group of kids, no more than 4.  They focus on areas such as:

Listening
Conversing
Reading and using appropriate body language
Social interactions and peer relationships
Self-esteem and self-control
How to make friends and get along with others
How to handle teasing

When I heard about the class, I wondered if I could get some of my co-workers in there.  KIDDING, really, but ya know…you know you were thinking it too, don’t lie to the IT Girl.

So we continue on our path, hoping and working towards a goal than seems ever more close.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2010 8:57 am

    Where’s the “LIKE” button? I need to hit it.

  2. March 30, 2010 7:49 am

    Thanks for the update, Ellen, and glad to hear it!
    Would be interested in what you have planned for the kids this summer. Is your daughter going back to camp?

    Could I reserve a few places in that social skills class?
    Is there a Dummies book here?

Leave a Reply

