Skip to content

SXSW Redux

March 25, 2010

If you want an idea of how things have changed around these parts, keep reading.  Two years ago, I was griping all over the Interwebs about SXSW, the annual “spring break for geeks” in Austin Tx.  How the sessions were lame, how there wasn’t enough meat to the conference, how I just didn’t get that the real action here was in the hallways.  How I got so much more out of a quick trip to BlogHerbusines, and felt that was my crowd…

Oh, the irony!  First off, two years ago at SXSW, and I couldn’t possibly have realized it at the time, I made connections with 3 authors that would turn out to be some of my present day bestsellers.  Who would that be?  Oh…

Chris Brogan, co-author of Trust Agents and Social Media 101

Laura Fitton, lead author on Twitter For Dummies

Shiv Singh, author of Social Media Marketing For Dummies

How about that?  A marketer comes out of a conference with 3 authors!  When does that ever happen?  Well, strictly speaking, never, but it was all a good thing, as sister Martha would say.

So I started rethinking SXSW for this year.  Some of the editorial folk in our general business group were going, and were thinking of throwing a small party at the conference.  Darren Rowse and Chris Garrett, authors of the upcoming revision of Problogger were also going to be there.  Together.  On the same continent.  Which hardly ever happens.  Which meant I could film them for bonus content at online account.  That was the kicker.  I decided to go.

It took me two years, but I finally GET SXSW.  It really is about the conversations you have in the hallways, in the blogger lounge, at parties…even in the lobby of your hotel.  A great connection is right around the corner, literally and figuratively.  I didn’t feel like I was the belle of the ball, but I felt like I had a place.  A place where I was free to be a social media enthusiast.  Not an expert or guru, just me.  The IT Girl.  It was a place that was also free from all the mommy-blogger drama of the last BlogHer, if you want the honest truth.  Which was oh-so-freeing.  I made a lot of great connections, and who knows, we might see some books resulting from them.

Here’s another thing – I stayed at the famous Marriott Residence Inn.  Again.  After my experience last year, I figured it could only get better.  Guess what – it was better!  Everything was super.  The staff was great, my room was wonderful, and no strange people, even ones I am related to, were let into my room without my permission! 

So, in summary, I can HIGHLY recommend SXSW and the Residence Inn again.  I was going to write a longer post about what I felt were the do’s and don’t’s of SXSW, but I saw Chris Garrett’s perfect post with what I was going to say and more, and figured I’d just link to that…

Here are some fun photos from SXSW…

Rock and Roll Mama Linsday Maines and Stephanie "Straight Up and Dirty Klein"Sybex author Chris Treadway and his lovely wife Kim

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 26, 2010 7:37 am

    It was fun doing the video and photo shoot, and I am glad you liked my post. I am still shocked by the security lapses at your hotel last time though, what on earth were they thinking? “Hi, yeah, I am her dad. Ignore the axe, it is a family heirloom. Yeah, I always wear this ski mask ..”

Leave a Reply

