Skip to content

Book “Fare” on Foursquare

February 22, 2010

Last week I wrote about my flirtations with Foursquare.  I’m sad to report that it has turned into a full on affair.  I’m almost to the point of planning new places to go, with the goal of checking into new places on the site. 

But I’ve also been reading about businesses trying to take advantage of the new landscape.  Baskin Robbins, an IT family favorite, has come out on Facebook and other social networking sites actively encouraging Foursquare users to add their local ice cream emporiums into Foursquare if they are not already there. 

Great idea, I thought.   Sometimes when I use the service to check in somewhere, I look at the other places in the ‘hood, and see where else I might want to visit. 

Then I got to thinking, what if we did this for bookstores?  Not just the Barnes & Nobles and Borders of the word, but the independent stores as well?  What if we Foursquare users made sure to check out the site and make sure that our favorite places to buy books locally are on Foursquare?  Who knows how much impact it would have, but isn’t it important to make sure that these places are represented anywhere people might be looking for them?

So this week, take the time to check Foursquare and see if your local bookstore is there.  If it isn’t, add it in – who knows, with enough visits, you could be the mayor.  If it is, check in, not just virtually on Foursquare, but physically as well.  You never know what might be waiting for you inside.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Suzanne permalink
    February 22, 2010 11:16 am

    What a great idea Ellen. It’s not without a little guilt that I go to the big chain bookstores, and just happened to be at B&N yesterday and added it to foursquare. (So if I go there just one more time, I’m mayor. YAY!) The reason for the guilt is that we do have a smaller, local bookstore here in Huntington, Book Revue. I’m not saying that the big chains do not deserve my business too – because they are local as well, and although they are franchises, provide jobs and help our local economy. But I do want to support small business as well, so I will make it a point to go to Book Revue soon, find something new to read, and of course check in!

  2. February 22, 2010 11:20 am

    I LOVE BOOK REVUE! You are so lucky to have a great independent like that in your town. Sure, discounts at chain stores are nice, but I’m more than happy to pay full price for service and recommendations on new books I should be reading. We’ve done a lot of author events at Book Revue and they have always been most kind to us.

    But you know what? A lot of stores sell books, and we need to support all of them. So keep putting your Barnes & Nobles in there, because they count too!

  3. February 22, 2010 12:15 pm

    Good idea. I’m not on Foursquare…yet. You are sucking me in.

Leave a Reply

