Skip to content

The Greatest Gift of All

December 15, 2009

You may think I am talking about peace, love or happiness. But I’m not. I’m talking about coffee. Because you cannot have the first three with out the latter…

Let me explain. I never was a real coffee drinker. I got through college on a steady regimen of Diet Pepsi and tea. Twice in my early adult life I tried coffee. Once was when I was working at Hampton Jitney and stayed out way too late the night before and thought coffee would help. It didn’t. The second time was at a trade show in New Orleans where I was nursing a hangover (see a pattern here?) and tried the coffee with chickory. I liked it so much I proceeded to have 5 cups of it. This too ended badly. So it wasn’t until after IT Boy was born that I found the need for the bean.  It kept my metabolism and energy levels up, giving me the will to get through the day.

My parents are both heavy coffee drinkers.  Mom drinks black coffee, but there’s a story behind that.  She prefered coffee with milk and sugar until college.  She lived in a sorority house where there were male waiters who would serve the sisters.  When it was time for coffee, they would have to bring over the milk and sugar.  She was too embarrassed to have them come over every time, so she learned to live without it.   Dad is a consistent “triple grande non-fat latte” man, so much so that even Mr. IT knows how to order it, and he doesn’t drink coffee.

I prefer the taste of expresso-based beverages to straight coffee product.  Because why would I want something readily available and cheap, right?  We got an expresso maker as a wedding gift, but it broke and I never replaced it.  This has left me to get drinks at Starbucks, Dunkin Donuts or wherever I happened to be that sold iced lattes.  Fulfilling, yes, but pricey.

I noticed that a bunch of friends were getting single cup coffee makers.  This seemed like a good solution for me.  My big coffee pot wasn’t getting used except for big gatherings.  I just needed to provide beverages for me, so a single cup was really all I needed.  But the Keurig that many were buying only made coffee, tea and hot chocolate.  Not a great option but I was willing to compromise.

While I was mulling this about, a friend told me about her Tassimo machine.  It makes not only coffee and tea, but all expresso beverages too.  The machine has a bar code reader that figures out what is being made and how much water is required.  You can make a hot chocolate with steamed milk!  A cappuccino, regular or decaf!  Even a cuppa tea!  It’s genius!

I kept this in the back of my mind, until I saw a Bed Bath and Beyond catalog with this machine on the cover.  They were offering it for $169, but were providing a rebate and you could use your 20% off coupon.  SOLD!  I stopped in the day before my birthday and picked up one.  I also got a bunch of pods to try (as Mr. IT said when he noticed my new pod collection, “Can’t you do anything in a not-all-get-out-mode,” to which I replied, “Have you met my dad?”) also using my 20% off coupon. 

When I got home, I immediately got it unpacked and prepared it to make the virgin beverage.  The opinion at home was to start with Milka hot chocolate, which I did.  There was a big fight over the first cup, which I *didn’t* win, even though it was my birthday eve.  But no matter.  I got a cup and it was delicious.

See how easy it is to use???  Watch this, you can even SMELL the coffee…

The selection of coffees is great.  I really like the Gevalia expressos.  Milka is an amazing hot chocolate.  Starbucks and Seattle’s Best also make coffees for the machine. 

So, now I’m telling everyone I know how wonderful this machine is.  I have not been compensated in any way by Tassimo, other than by receiving beautiful cappuccino every morning from my heavenly machine.  If you are thinking about getting a single cup coffee maker and want more options than a Keurig offers, definitely consider a Tassimo.  You won’t regret it!

And thanks for the birthday gift, Dad!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2009 4:19 am

    When I got home, I immediately got it unpacked and prepared it to make the virgin beverage.

  2. July 4, 2014 12:33 am

    Thanks to my father who told me regarding this webpage,
    this webpage is truly remarkable.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention The Greatest Gift of All « ConfessionsOfAnITGirl.com -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

