Skip to content

Black Friday – Just Say NO

November 24, 2009

This morning, I  was reading through Twitter Moms and a fun contest caught my eye.  To enter, bloggers have to write a post about their Black Friday shopping strategies.  I was reading through the entries and struck by how creative these women were, and how many DEALS they were going to be getting for their families. 

Then I saw this post from a fellow WordPress blogger and thought, oh, that’s more me. 

Because, sure, I’d love to win a Target Gift Card (pick ME!  pick ME!).  But here’s the thing.  I don’t have any Black Friday strategies, unless you could total avoidance of the event to be a strategy. 

Crone is right on target with her post (target!  Nice synergy in that sentence.)  Black Friday ain’t what it used to be.  You’re lining up with a bunch of sweaty and aggressive strangers to try and snag one of two netbooks the store has…and you’re not going to get it. 

I shop at stores like Kohl’s, WalMart and, yes, Target because I expect to save money year round.  I don’t look to them one day of the year to entertain me with LOW LOW LOW prices while I zoom my shopping cart through the throngs of humanity crammed into a very small space.

In the past 10 years, the only thing I have ever bought on Black Friday was a skin for my iPod that I bought online at the Apple Store.  They hardly ever have sales, so that was the right time to take advantage of that opportunity.  The rumor sites say they will do the same thing this year, and Soccer Girl has her eye on a Touch for the holidays – maybe I’ll get lucky.  I bet Target.com has some sales, and I will check them out.  From the privacy of my own cozy home.   But no way, no how will I step foot into a store on Friday.  That, my friends, is a strategy for success!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2009 9:53 am

    Howdy – thanks for the shout-out and for visiting me and yes, there will be some bargains this Friday, but I can live without them! Too many crazy people and I pity the retail clerks who have to keep smiling and being polite with the clods who push and shove and generally make horses’ patoots out of themselves just to save a dollar or two. I wish you a very Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. November 24, 2009 10:01 am

    Happy THanksgiving to you too!

  3. November 24, 2009 11:03 am

    Amen, sister. Black Friday is completely and totally insane. You won’t catch me anywhere near a store on that day. I will be hauling out my decorations and watching Rankin & Bass Christmas cartoons.

  4. November 24, 2009 11:08 am

    I spend my Black Friday making stock from the leftover turkey bones. I freeze it to make soups throughout December. My sister usually comes over, and we bake cookies to freeze and give as holiday gifts. We used to get up at the crack of dawn to brave the shoppers, but now I use that whole weekend to relax and recharge for the season.

  5. November 25, 2009 3:40 pm

    nice article.

  6. November 27, 2009 6:07 pm

    Boy, I could not agree more. Goods are cheap; sanity is priceless. I went knocking around our small town’s Main Street and square with my two daughters for a while this morning, while everyone else was apparently out knocking each other down at Wal-Mart. We didn’t buy anything, but we had a nice time walking in the sunshine and being together, which I think is what we’re supposed to do with our holiday time.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Black Friday – Just Say NO « ConfessionsOfAnITGirl.com -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

