Skip to content

Vaccination = yes. Flu mist = Hell NO

October 19, 2009

Last week, I took IT Boy and Soccer Girl to the doctor for their annual checkup.  Despite my making a point to remember what a horrible experience it was to take a physician-phobic 2 year old on a doctor appointment at the same time as his 9 year old sister, I repeated the error of my ways a year later.  Sure, hearing the doctor was difficult through his protesting screams.  Yes, it was painful being bit while trying to get him to lie still on the table.  Whatever. I survived.

What was a bit more in question this visit was flu shots.  Our doctor always recommends that both kids get the seasonal form of the vaccine, and this visit would have been no exception.  Except for the fact that they didn’t have any.  All they had was the mist form of the H1N1 vaccine.

I had resolved I was only giving them the seasonal vaccine, despite articles like this telling me it was ok and I should consider it.  Now I didn’t have a choice, and the doctor was telling me we should get *something* into the kids while they had it.  After some deliberation and a phonecall to Mr. IT on the train, we decided to go for it.

That night, Boy was fussy when I was putting him to bed.  He actually started wimpering, which is most unlike him.  About 1/2 an hour after he went down, he was sobbing.  I came into get him and found he was burning up, and would spend a feverish sleepless night with us in our bed.  Mr. IT kindly stayed home with him the next day.  I called the doctor (another pediatrician in the practice) who found it most unusual that he would have a reaction that strong, and suggested it was a coincidence.

My mother’s intiution told me it couldn’t be, but I agreed with him that Boy should stay home and rest, and if he still had a fever the next day to bring him in.  He did end up with a fever of 103 that night, and the next morning I did indeed bring him in to see his doctor.  We were both alarmed to see dried orange gook on his ear, which she immediately recognized as blood.  Sure enough, he had a massive double ear infection.  His right eardrum was perforated, and his left one was about to go.  She described it as a balloon being stretched over a rock…there was a ball of puss in his ear that big about to break through it.

She was horrified, and I was too.  The poor guy was in so much pain and now we knew why.  She prescribed a rather strong antibiotic which helped almost instantly.  We continued to douse him in children’s motrin and he got better rapidly.   

Why am I blogging this?  Well, it’s an interesting story for any parent to be aware of.  Your mileage may vary of course, but I would love to know if other kids getting the flu mist (H1N1 or not) have experienced such drastic ear infections.  I know my neighbor’s 13 year old who rarely gets sick had the mist and got an ear infection a day later.  Is there a connection?  Not sure.  I’m not telling parents not to vaccinate, certainly not.  I just wish Boy could have avoided the pain of the past few days – when the time comes for his next dose, I’ll be the first one looking for a big sharp needle over the mist.

54 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennifer permalink
    October 19, 2009 8:27 pm

    Wow. Thanks for the heads up. Good to know about this. My daughter is scheduled to get both vaccinations this upcoming weekend. I’ll be sure to tell my husband to steer clear of any mist!

  2. Shauna Yule Brasseur permalink
    October 20, 2009 9:14 am

    E-gad. So sorry to hear that this happened to Boy. My husband took my 2 1/2 year old daughter in for her flu shot this weekend and was given the choice of the giant needle or the nasal spray. Reading this, I am very happy that he went for the shot!

  3. October 30, 2009 12:04 pm

    Whoa! I thought there was no live virus in the mist?

    Sorry to hear what happened to your Boy!

  4. November 2, 2009 10:30 am

    The mist does indeed contain live virus – and he is due to have a second one in 2 weeks. Maybe.

    • Brandy permalink
      November 11, 2009 10:53 pm

      I specifically asked if they can get the shot next time and the answer was YES, that is what I will do.
      I wrote my story below just FYI.

  5. November 11, 2009 8:57 am

    So sorry Ellen, Our kids had the seasonal mist and were fine.

  6. Brandy permalink
    November 11, 2009 10:50 pm

    My children were also vaccinated with the H1N1 flu mist vaccine. My eldest daughter got a bad ear infection 2 days after getting the vaccine and then developed a bad case of pink eye 4 days after that….needless to say…she has been a healthy kid for years…..coincidence?? Don’t think so…..My 2 year old little boy also got the flu mist and developed a high fever up to 104.2 the next morning after taking the vaccine…the fever lasted for 2 and half days and went away only to come back 2 1/2 days later. His fever has been present now going on five days anywhere from 103.8. to 100.3 after medication..I took him in to the pediatrician, just knowing that he had an ear infection….but he didn’t, she says it must be viral because she doesn’t see anything wrong…other than a fever. He just tonight, 4th day of the fever had one diarrhea stool…other than that nothing….He is miserable and my kids will not be getting a second dose of the mist. I will however get them the shot, as my doctor said we can do that next time. My middle daughter got the shot because she has had vaccinations within 30 days of the clinic…(which was empty at the local school) and had absolutely no reactions to it. I feel awful that I have done this to him…..

    • Brandy permalink
      November 15, 2009 5:08 pm

      Just a follow up. My little boy is still having fevers, although not as high as the first five days. He is now running low grade temps, but appears to still be somewhat lethargic and pale. He went back to the doctors on Friday…6 days after the fevers started the second time and I had them do a strep test…which was negative. I guess since he still isn’t feeling better and Monday the 16th will be 9 days with fevers, I will take him back to the doctors and they are going to draw some bloodwork and possibly check for Mono…..Has Anywone else experienced ANYTHING like this related to this vaccine?? Anyone??

      • Sar permalink
        December 6, 2013 8:03 am

        Maybe it’s an allergic reaction???

      • Brandy permalink
        October 8, 2014 12:57 am

        My son was deathly ill for almost 30 days….I am a nurse and was terrified that this mist had sent something off in his body…he eventually came out of it and is a healthy 7 year old boy. I have never done the mist again. Actually this is the first year I have even given them the shots. No reactions. It’s amazing that even 5 years later the same things are happening.

      • danyellie permalink
        December 16, 2014 1:32 am

        i know this was so ling ago. but this year nov 2014 my daughter got the flu mist. she had high fever for 4 days then a week of 96.7 body temp. really first its a constant 102.6 then a 96.7. also after being sick for a week in a half she has become so scared of everything. she use to sleep inbher bed every single night alone all threw the night now a month and a half later she is still waking up scared. she now hates to be alone wont even go to the bathroom alone. she is 4 years old and is scared to play in her bedroom alone. she has to have mommy or daddy with her at all times. she crys to sleep in our bed. all this started the day after the flu mist!!

      • Ang permalink
        November 19, 2015 11:43 pm

        HI! I received the flu-mist vaccine because I was too chicken to get the shot. The next few days, I had a sore throat with drainage. Two weeks later, I have strep throat. Any adults have anything similar?

      • Christine Nielsen permalink
        January 8, 2016 12:01 pm

        Hi! Thank you for posting this! I have noticed these things as well. Before Christmas 2014 my family of 4 all got the flu mist (our first time). Before and during that Christmas each of us was so sick, with my son being the worst. He had a throat infection where he couldn’t swallow without severe pain, and puss and swelling at the back of his throat. 3 out of 4 of us went on antibiotics after fighting for 2 weeks. It seems we got sick, then developed secondary infections of the ear, nose or throat. This flu season we again all had the flu mist again and 2 out of 4 of us got sick. My other son has had a milder cough for about a month and one of his ears is continually blocked even now. This year I got the worst of it. It started with an eye infection, then within 2 days I developed the worst throat infection that I have ever had. I would tear up every time I tried to swallow. My first trip to the doctor showed no infection and I was told it was a virus and come back if it changes. Then about 5 days later I had a fever, ear infection, sinus infection and terrible cough along with the throat infection. I went back to the doctor who was shocked at how sick I had become. I am now on antibiotics. This is the last year I am doing the flu mist!!

  7. joanne permalink
    December 13, 2009 4:11 pm

    My son had same high fevers from flumist. 104.0 when i checked it. Father got him the vaccine and I didn’t see him for a couple days after, so fever could have been up for awhile. Father said he became sick morning after vaccine. Anyway, took to ER and they would not fill out adverse reaction form. Dr. said he had the flu. Said it couldn’t be from FluMist. FluMist has live virus.
    Also said they are not doing cultures for flu anymore. How can they keep statistics on adverse reactions if they are not filling out form. How can they have accurate numbers on flu if they are not doing cultures. Some hospitals are culturing and some are not. Anyway if your child has an adverse reaction to vaccine, contact CDC.Gov and fill out an adverse reaction form. Very important this is done.

    • December 15, 2009 11:37 am

      Joanne, i did fill out the form and call the CDC as did my doctor. It was her insistence that let me to do it. Sorry your son got sick.

    • Scott permalink
      December 5, 2012 1:32 pm

      Joanne and to Whomever else this may apply (realizing this is 3yrs after the fact),

      First, let me say that I have trained as a pharmacist and a medical doctor, and I have three children of my own. I am not anti-vaccine, nor am I a sheep who trusts everything the medical community brings to the altar.

      The flumist vaccine is a live, attenuated virus. By attenuated, this means something has been done to make it “weaker” than the regular virus.

      What they have done is called “cold adaptation”. This means that the flu virus in Flumist has been engineered to live in cold environments like the nose. Environments “relatively” warmer than the nose (lungs, muscles, etc) are theoretically fatal to the virus, as would be a feverish body.

      So, the virus is supposed to live out its days in the nose, allowing the host (us, our kids) to build up immunity and kill it, without the virus having the option to even infect the rest of our body. We would then have immunity against those strains of the virus contained in the mist.

      I think an inner ear infection secondary to the virus is not likely, but certainly possible. An underlying secondary infection may have been brewing and having resources compromised by fighting a localized live virus may have given it the chance it needed to flourish. I don’t argue a mother’s intuition–it, and persitence can trump a physician’s initial assessment. Always stick with your gut.

      As for adverse reaction forms being filled out by physicians, it’s like Bigfoot: I’ve heard it exists, but I’ve never seen the proof. I’ve never filled them out, because vaccines are not a part of my particular practice. I think most doctors don’t fill them out because of a few reasons: First, it commits them to saying a vaccine is less than benign. Second, it’s extra paper work. Third, they’re collegues may think they’re weird if they blame a reaction on a product the rest of the medical community has given virtual immunity (pun intended) when it comes to side effects.

      My advice for concerned parents, when it comes to vaccines or any other medications is this:
      1) Stay informed. YOU make health decisions for your children. If you aren’t informed, you leave it to the medical community and your kids may be treated like cattle.
      2) Politely inform your pediatrician that you try to stay as informed as possible about the things your kids are taking. Doctors take this seriously. We know we aren’t perfect, though some idiot doctors try to project so on people they think are not educated. Don’t be stupid about this though…if you come off as pompass, your doctor will clam up and you won’t get the best from him/her. Don’t tell them how to practice.
      3) If your doctor can’t handle the above, find one who can. They’re out there.

  8. Susan permalink
    December 30, 2009 4:33 am

    My little one has been healthy for the first two years of her life, never ill once. Since the flu mist vaccine she has had an ear infection and pink eye. It didn’t hit me until today that the two may be related….

  9. Katie permalink
    January 21, 2010 7:42 am

    My 2 and a half year old daughter got the seasonal flu mist and is really sick right now.
    She got the mist Monday afternoon and started with a fever Wednesday night. I feel so guily I did not know this was going to happen- but the dr teetered on giving her the shot. But the mist is so much less painful. Her 8 and 5 year old sisters got the mist and are fine- but the little one- oh no. How long will it last? The package insert said wheezing could have them hospitalized. Anyone experience severe cough too? thanks for your help

    • laurie permalink
      February 17, 2012 11:18 pm

      yes, my daughter is really sick right now after flumist. I feel horrible. The coughing is horrible & she’s been sick all week. If her coughing does not improve by tomorrow then I’m taking her back to the ER. I have warned everyone to stay away from flumist. Get the shot instead.

  10. laurie permalink
    February 17, 2012 11:14 pm

    I am so glad I found this post. I googled flumist because I knew that I couldn’t be the only parent whose child had a terrible reaction to it. I took my daughter in & was planning on having them give her a flu shot, but was convinced to go with the nasal mist. However, I was not told that it was a live virus & that she could get the flu. That night her fever spiked to 102 & her nose was runny. She started vomiting & coughing. I took her in & that’s when they told me that they can get the flu from the mist. She’s been out of school all week. She is on prednisone & xoponex in a nebulizer. This has been an awful experience. I will NEVER do the nasal mist again. I will choose the flu shot. She has never been sick for more than a few days & I’m really getting worried because her symptoms are not improving.

  11. Chelsea permalink
    October 6, 2012 12:43 am

    Wish I had saw this before 1045 am this morning. I brought my 2 yr old to doctor and they suggested he get the flu mist and my son son is horribly miserable. His nose has been runny then stuffy and he is horribly congested. I’m actually up and this moment because I am scared to go to sleep. It’s bad. Not sure if he will come along with the ear infection yet. I mean I know when u get the flu shot,it actually gives you the flu but I’ve been giving him meds and doing everything. It’s horrible:(

    • Worried Mom of 2 permalink
      December 4, 2012 4:19 pm

      Both my kids got the Flumist in August and my 5 year old ran a fever 2 weeks after, complained of headache. Took her to Doctor and was told she had sinusitis. Put on antibiotics. Fast forward two weeks later she got a 24hr fever. That disappeared. Just this past month she got another round of fever and headache but this time earache and prescribed amoxicillin again. Now, just a few days of finishing her antibiotic she’s running a fever of 101 and complaining of sore throat and headache. Coincidence? No. I will never give my children Flumist , ever! My 3 year old had Flumist for the first time in August and she’s had problems with congestion ever since. Stick with your motherly intuition.

  12. December 30, 2012 2:59 am

    Took my 13 yr old daughter for a physical for track and the dr suggested She get the flumist. I have four children and have never had any of them vaccinated for the flu. We have been fortunate in that none of the kids, myself or my husband have had the flu in years. I went against my mothers intuition and let them give it to her. Bad idea! She has been sick the entire Christmas break and it started two days after she got the flumist. The rest of the family is fine. Don’t get the flumist!

  13. Krissy permalink
    January 8, 2013 10:37 am

    No flu mist is going to cause a next day ear infection.

    • Mom of 2 permalink
      January 8, 2016 12:14 pm

      No, but it could cause ear, nose, throat congestion leading to pain and eventually a secondary infection. This is what happened in my family.

  14. vlaf permalink
    January 12, 2013 3:02 am

    My daughter had the flu mist on Thursday and had a terrible ear ache that night. Woke up at 12am sobbing. Gave her ibuprofen and she finally fell asleep two hours later.wasn’t sure if it was connected to the flu mist but had my suspicions.

  15. Elizabeth permalink
    January 12, 2013 9:59 am

    My 5 year old son had the flu mist Tuesday, by Thursday had a runny nose, and by Friday had a high fever (102.7), sore throat, terrible wheezing cough, and still the runny nose. We will be steering clear of the flu mist and opting for the flu shot in the future.

  16. Donna permalink
    April 14, 2013 4:33 pm

    My youngest daughter (four at the time flu mist was given) has experienced these same symptoms. She was administered flu mist on a thursday (back in January 2013) and one week later developed a nasty cough with fever. Took her to the Dr., she had an ear infection. The next day, she developed pink eye in both eyes, followed by an infection in the other ear, so double ear infection and pink eye. My daughter has a history of ear infections, when she was younger which resulted in her having tubes in when she was 18 months old. So, I really did not think too much of the ear infections, however I thought the pink eye was weird at the time. Also, the ear infections did not respond to the first antibiotic prescribed, which was a second line due to her history of ear infections. Through all this though, what has troubled me the most is this cough she has developed. She has had a cough since that thursday after the flu mist was given. I have taken her to the dr numerous times, she does have congestion in her nose and throat, however no wheezing as her lungs are thankfully clear. My oldest daughter as well as myself have asthma, my youngest daughter has never had asthma or even a cough until she received the flu mist. I was wondering, those of you that have posted, if your children have developed a chronic cough as well since the flu mist was given?

  17. July 24, 2013 3:32 am

    It can capture images in four resolutions with a
    minimum of 160×120 and maximum of 1280×960 pixels. So, Hosted PBX system gives an opportunity to the doctors to serve
    more patients and save more lives. Not only are they also making
    our “relationship” with the “management” even MORE impossibly problematic, IF POSSIBLE, to maintain; but the latter continue CALLOUSLY, SCORNFULLY rejecting
    the ONLY reason I wish EVEN they could be permitted to stay, if only such a reason were GENUINELY evokable at all.

  18. lily permalink
    October 10, 2013 9:44 pm

    I’m a healthy active 33 yr old, I got the flumist on Sunday at my local walgreens pharmacy and I woke up sick the next day. It’s been a week of high fevers a sore throat pounding ear aches, I just feel miserable all over. My husband got the flushot last week and he was fine, it was my turn this week and I made the mistake of going with the flumist instead never again !

  19. Nancy Dawson permalink
    October 17, 2013 7:19 pm

    My daughter has always gotten
    the flu mist never had any problems until this yr, she got the flu mist on Tuesday the next morning she was sneezing really bad and fussy, Thursday she is running a fever , runny nose, and sneezing. hope it gets better soon. she is 7 yrs old

  20. mrs.diaz36 permalink
    November 12, 2013 8:38 am

    I signed my child up to be given the flu shot at school atleast I thought it was the shot till she brang the paper home and realized it was the mist she spent the next two days sniffling like crazy and coughing and today a fever and earache she never had this reaction with a needle so please do not do the mist it caused more harm then to good to my child

  21. November 25, 2013 5:32 pm

    My son received the flumist in September. Right away he developed a fever and and runny nose. A week later his nose was very stuffed up to the point there was a thick mucas wall in his left nostril. It only stayed on his left side. I called his peditrician and they said to try to suction it out and use saline. Our family moved to a different city about an hour and a half away from his peditrician. About a month later his nose was still not getting any better so we took him to the ER. They told us to go see an ENT however we needed to have a referral from his peditrician to do so. I found a local peditrician and finally got him an appointment. A week before his appointment I could finally see what was behind the wall of mucas. It was a massive growth and you could see veins so I knew it was apart of his skin and not an object. When we got to the peditrician they immediately took us to the ENT and recomended having surgery to remove the bump. He had surgery on Friday and now is recovering. We will never get the flumist for any of my children. I believe the FluMist caused his nose to react in a certain way where a bump grew. My poor son was in a lot of pain for over two months. And now we have to wait till December 5 to make sure the biopsy reports everything is normal.

  22. Sar permalink
    December 6, 2013 8:01 am

    My two children got that vaccine and they were fine. I think your son was sick and you didn’t know and of course with the vaccine it made it worse. So sad to hear that he got terrible ear infection

  23. Joan Newly permalink
    October 6, 2014 1:48 am

    I’m sorry your son was ill. Infections are terrible things and having a sick kid is horrifying. I’m a mother; I get it.

    Saying that, a couple of things:

    A) the flu virus incubation period isn’t less than 24 hours. You can google the information or I can provide a few resources. All extremely learned medical sources. Chances are, if it was a virus, he caught it before receiving the mist.

    B) the mist is a isn’t a full capable live virus; it isn’t capable of reproducing to the point of duplicating and causing illness. Again, google the information. The CDC and the American pediatric association are great resources and provide numerous sources.

    C) at the doctor you son was prescribed antibiotics to treat a bacteria infection. A virus can not be treated by antibiotics.

    D) your son probably had a unrelated bacterial infection that effected his ears. Kids get those and they are fairly common. I’m adult and get them often too.

    Please stop encouraging people to do or not do things that could endanger their lives if you aren’t a professional. It is ethically irresponsible and morally reprehensible.

    Note: your blog appears via random google search so yes, you have a responsibility not to propogate bullshit.

    • Melissa Jaramillo permalink
      October 7, 2014 11:20 pm

      I wish I read this first. This make sense, thank you.

    • Brandy permalink
      October 8, 2014 1:11 am

      I am an Oncology nurse…have been for 10 years. Not a single person can convince me that the two things are not related. Fevers, ear infections (my daughter only had a couple when she was a toddler and was 9 when she had it after the flu mist) and pink eye. My son finally came out of it…but it was terrifying at the time. I let my kids get the shot for the first time this year and we had zero issues.

  24. Melissa Jaramillo permalink
    October 7, 2014 11:18 pm

    My son ran a fever of 102○f, the day after he got the flu mist. His fever lasted two days.

    My daughter ran a fever 101○F , and has an ear infection and pink eye. I do not know if this is a conisidense or linked to the flu mist she received. Her symtpoms began two days after the flu mist.

  25. Liz permalink
    October 13, 2014 6:54 pm

    After 10yrs of getting the flu shot for my 4 kids with no problems, last yr (2013) my 3yr old twins got the flu mist for the first time. No side effects at all, not one.

    This yr all 4 children had the mist (Fri gone). One twin got very wheezy Friday night, but to be fair he was already on the back end of a cold with a slight wheeze when he got the vaccine. Wheeze was much better by Saturday.

    My 12yr old had a streaming nose and uncontrollable sneezing all Sunday evening, cleared up by Monday. The other twin had a runny nose and congestion by Sunday morning and has developed a low grade fever tonight (Monday). Not sure if fever 3 days later can be vaccine related but considering he’s the one who has had some kind of nasal side effect since getting the mist, it does make me wonder.

    None of these minor side effects are particularly worrisome and I will get it again for them next year. The only exception to consider would be my wheezy child. I would in future ensure him ‘wheeze free’ before getting the mist next time(something recommended by the manufacturers but not checked on by my Doctor). He definitely took a down turn ‘wheeze wise’ around 6/8hrs after the mist. Because he is 4 this didn’t trouble him too much and he shook it off quickly. Had he been younger I fear that he might have needed some medical intervention. Parents of the under 3s be aware of this if you have a child prone to wheeze.

    • hirayuki permalink
      October 19, 2014 1:51 pm

      Everything about FluMist, including the paperwork I signed before getting it myself, says it should *not* be given to “people who are currently wheezing” or “children who are 2 to 5 years of age with a history of wheezing”. Sounds like your wheezing twin should have postponed his FluMist this year.

  26. magdalena permalink
    October 24, 2014 5:31 am

    All of these side effects are stated in the flumist insert leaflet. It is also stated there that every parent should read it before deciding whether or not to have it given to their children. How many people are given the leaflet to read? How many request to read it before having it done? I suspect very few if any. Parents please research well before letting your children or yourself being experimented on by the pharmaceutical companies. The complete prescribing information on Flumist can be found at http://www.medimmune.com/docs/default-source/default-document-library/product-and-patient-information-for-flumist-quadrivalent.pdf?sfvrsn=0

  27. Lisa permalink
    November 2, 2014 10:37 pm

    I took our 3 children ages 11, 7 and almost 3 to get the flu mist Thursday. Today is Sunday and or daughter has been running a fever off and on since Thursday evening. She also has a runny nose. Our other 2 children are fine…

  28. jess permalink
    November 9, 2014 3:33 pm

    I’m glad I find this and I’m not over worried. I work in a pediatric office, and have heard a few things on the flumist but in ten yrs my children have always had the shot until this past week. Hub took 3yr old to check up and opted for the mist ( an easier choice for him) and that was a Wednesday-( and not at my office)…It’s Sunday and 3ry has ran fever 101+ since Friday night and isn’t eating anything barely drinking and today she hasn’t peed but once in 12hrs (roughly).. so tomorrow someone little one is seeing my ped Dr. or maybe er before then. Hope everyone littles are much better.

  29. K. Rodriguez permalink
    November 13, 2014 10:44 am

    I got the flumist back in 2009 at my physicians office during a routine well women’s check up. I was a healthy 27 year old female at the time. The next morning around 1:00am, I woke up with a 104.2 fever and had no voice. My husband took me to the ER and they could not diagnose me with anything. I was admitted and was in the hospital for almost 3 weeks. My family and I seriously thought I was dying.. My fever would not subside with any treatments I was given. I started seeing cardiologists for raised heart rates, numerous internal medicine specialists and even neurologists.. After 3 weeks of sitting in a hospital bed and not knowing what was going on with me and after several MRI’s and CT scans, they finally told me I had pneumonia. (All of my chest xrays and scans came out clear the first few weeks.) Ever since then, there have been numerous trips to the ER and to my physicians office. I now have to see a pulmonary specialist and have been diagnosed with asthma and acute bronchitis. I have to get an asthma/allergy shot monthly and every time the weather changes, I am back in the dr’s office for more antibiotics, steroids, breathing treatments and cough meds. I still get my flu shot annually and I never have any problems with it. This is most definitely from the flumist vaccine. NEVER in my life have I EVER had any health problems, ever. I would steer clear of this vaccine and stick with the regular flu shot.

  30. Sarah permalink
    December 11, 2014 2:14 pm

    Last week my 16 month old had her 2nd dose of the flu shot seeing it was her first time relieving the vaccine. Almost a week later she spiked a really high fever. I took her in and she has double ear infections. The same exact thing happen to my niece a month or so ago. And my nephew a few years ago. Of course the doctor at urgent care said it was a consequence. I’m not buying it. No way it’s from the vaccine.

  31. Carly permalink
    December 23, 2014 9:12 pm

    My son got the mist flu shot Decmeber 18th, a Thursday. By December 23rd we ended up in ER with an ear infection.

    Everyone but him got the flu shot weekes and weeks before but he was in school. Went to get his and they gave me the choice infront of him shot or mist. He was begging for no shot. I caved.

    Then the following day him and myself (he’s 5) got a cold and it was a rough one. Now he has an ear infection. Was it the mist or just consciendece. Not sure.

    • Latasha permalink
      March 15, 2016 9:55 pm

      It was definitely the mist..

  32. Amy permalink
    January 12, 2015 2:30 am

    My son had flu mist 12-31-2015.. And I’m making an appt this week because for over a week now he keeps saying what when I talk to him. He’s never had trouble hearing me before and now I repeat myself every time I talk. He’s 5 and never really gets sick.

  33. May 21, 2015 7:05 pm

    It’s really a cool and useful piece of information.
    I am satisfied that you simply shared this useful info with us.
    Please stay us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

  34. Lori permalink
    June 16, 2015 10:43 pm

    My 3 year old had the flu mist 7 months ago he had never had a cold before that. Always healthy. He had a sinus cold the day after his flu mist and has been stuffed up ever since, he started snoring like an adult and waking up constantly because he can’t breathe. The doctor said it could be allergies, we’ve tried every kind of allergie medicine bought a hepa filter constantly dust and clean. No one in either of our families had allergies.

  35. christina permalink
    October 24, 2015 7:31 pm

    My grandson had the mist last and ended up with an ear infection.this year we opted for the shot and so far just a runny nose

  36. Tabitha permalink
    November 15, 2015 2:08 am

    My son is three years old and he was just given the flumist on the 12th of November and today he is burning up. I wish I’d ran across this website earlier. I new when it was offered not to get it. I thought i was protecting him from much worse but this is much worse. They didn’t even inform me of possible side effects. I really feel horriable. What to do from here. Do i just give him a fever reducer?

  37. Latasha permalink
    March 15, 2016 9:52 pm

    Neither of them are any good if you ask me.. Just something that their experimenting with. I refuse to ever get another. I contracted a secondary infection of strep throat , as well as a sinus infection.

  38. Heather permalink
    September 3, 2016 8:16 pm

    I never had sinus problems until the day I got FluMist eleven years ago. They didn’t mention any side effects until after giving it to me and then said I would likely have a runny nose for a few days. By the next day it was so plugged up that I couldn’t even blow my nose at all and it stayed that way for the next three months. Then the snot began to loosen up and I could blow enormous quantities of clear jello snot every day. Then the postnasal drip and bronchitis started. After about six months of constant coughing I learned to deal with the constant snot running down my throat and stopped coughing. The thick snot has decreased over the years but the postnasal drip has persisted every day all day ever since. I will NEVER let my kids get FluMist. It is not worth a lifetime of sinus problems!

Leave a Reply

