Skip to content

Back to school (almost)

August 25, 2009

jordanIt’s kind of weird to have a 2 week summer vacation, but that’s the life of the IT Boy.  Last Friday was the final day for Boy at his early intervention pre-school.  The day after Labor Day, he will start in at a new CPSE pre-school.  That means for us 2 weeks without school and very few outside school services to coordinate and schedule.  Dare I say that it’s going to be a most excellent two weeks for the ITs! 

Old pre-school held a “goodbye circle” as a sort of graduation for the kids leaving school.  I wasn’t able to attend as I was on a business trip, but they were kind enough to perform it for me when I visited the school the prior week to bring in cupcakes for Boy’s birthday.  His actual birthday falls on Labor Day, so he’s not in school then.  However, he’s so into singing “Happy Birthday” and eating “Happy Birthday cake” that I couldn’t miss the opportunity to celebrate at the old school and the new school. 

I didn’t realize that they were doing the program just for me…I figured I would show up with some cupcakes and be on my merry way.  Seeing all the boys, but most especially mine, able to sit in a circle, listen to their teachers and even perform a little was a bit overwhelming.  I remember 18 months ago walking into that same room and seeing the kids in there and wondering if my little guy would ever be able to do what they were doing.  Blessedly, he has achieved all that and more.  I am so grateful to the school and all the teachers and therapists who have worked so hard to support him.  Most of all I am proud of him, for (really) not knowing what he is working for but at the same time giving his all and coming so far.  Love you, little man!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2009 2:19 pm

    Cool post. Congrats!

  2. talesofanunfinishedmom permalink
    August 25, 2009 2:34 pm

    Awww…I got goose bumps reading this post. Congrats to the little man!

  3. August 25, 2009 2:42 pm

    Lump in Throat.

  4. Constance permalink
    August 25, 2009 4:07 pm

    Good luck with the new school!

Leave a Reply

