Skip to content

Celeb-u-mania at BlogHer-2009 Author Edition

August 11, 2009

It isn’t a BlogHer without a celebrity spotting.  And this one was pretty darn cool.

2009 august 041

That’s me with the most gracious and wonderful Jen Lancaster – we were both in the Blog To Book session.  I won’t go into depth about the session, because it wasn’t the most helpful session for wanna-be-published-authors, IMHO.  I spent most of it going, “Seriously???” and reading texts from fellow outraged colleagues.   A bright spot was when Jen commented about how important her relationship is with her publisher, in an effort to counter the “self publishing is for everyone!” trend.  I’m not against self publishing, but, hey, it’s not for everyone.  Considering there was no one from a publishing house or anyone who was an agent on the panel, Jen’s thoughful comment was the closest we came to having some representation there. 

Anyhow, she was charming and not at all frightened when I stormed at her with the camera.  I think it’s hard to tell who is cuter, but if you saw her adorable madras pants, it would be her game to lose.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2009 2:45 pm

    Wait, I want to hear more about this session. They didn’t have you and an agent in the session? They only had people who had self-published? Wha? Huh? Hmmm.

    Seriously??? I want to hear what that means. (I didn’t get to go to BlogHer this year.)

  2. Jeanenne permalink
    August 25, 2009 3:06 pm

    You are equally cute. Who was the photographer? Once of your fellow outraged colleagues, perhaps??

  3. August 25, 2009 8:17 pm

    Well….having 3 self proclaimed “experts” in self publishing (I’ll give it to Yvonne DeVita who knows her stuff) and one published author who, no offense to her, seemed to fall into her book contract didn’t really do justice to the topic. No one from a publishing house, and no agents meant a very unbalanced panel. There was a bit of publisher bashing, which I understand can happen, but without anyone on the panel to counter that, it was Jen Lancaster who stood up to give the other side of the equation.

    I certainly hope that if they go for “4” on this session and do it in 201o that they consider having an agent, someone from a publishing house, and people who have self published successfully.

    I’ve said enough to get me blackballed from all future BlogHers. If you want more info, DM or email me….

  4. August 25, 2009 8:18 pm

    Jeanenne, you are a GREAT photographer. If only I had changed the white balance!

Leave a Reply

