Skip to content

Off to camp!

July 27, 2009

camper

Yesterday, we dropped Soccer Girl off at the bus to take her to camp.  We got there WAY too early, even for us.  We ended up walking around the neighborhood (UWS) and gettinga bagel and a bottle of water for her to take up to camp.  Even though she kept sayingshe wasn’t hungry, I insisted that I would feel better if I knew that she had a snack and something to drink on the not-horribly-long-but-long-enough-to-need-a-snack bus ride.  We also met the second session camp nurse who was takingthe bus with her daughter.  The best part, though, was after she got on the bus and Mr. IT got nailed by a rather prolific pidgeon.  He took the good luck hit for his little girl!

There weren’t that many who got on at the stop – apparently the LI stop gets a lot more kids.  We were originally told by the director of the camp that we should go out of that stop because she’d be more likely to meet a kid in her bunk that way.  Of course, when the assignment came, she was put in the Manhattan bus group.  Since there is a traffic issue getting out to Long Island these days, we were in the end grateful that the bus was only a 25 minute drive for us. 

As you can see by the picture above, she’s thrilled to be getting out of Dodge.  I’ve already been on the Bunk1.com site and found some pictures of her at camp, safe, sound and happy.  I’d love to actually get a letter from her, but I’ll settle for a happy phonecall and a great visiting day in 2 weeks. 

I wrote her a letter while I was at BlogHerthat should have gotten to her already, if not today.  I hope I set the right tone for her first experience at sleepaway camp…

Hi Sweets!  Hope you are enjoying getting used to camp.  I’m sending this the day before we drop you at the bus for camp, to make sure you will have a note when you arrive.  Hope the bus ride was good.  What are you doing at camp today?  I hope you write me some letters.  I’ll try to get another note out to you soon.  Daddy, your brother and I all love you and I’m sure by the time you get this we will be missing you a whole bunch.  But don’t spend a lot of time missing us.  Be sure to experience all that camp has to offer.  Take chances.  Sit next to someone new at breakfast or lunch.  Try a new sport.  Make new friends.  Make it an opposite day and do something that’s different from what you would normally do.  That’s what camp is for.  I’ve heard the other campers are really nice, so I know you’re going to come out of this with a ton of friends.  Make sure you’re prepared to be a friend to the other girls.  I know you’ll do fine.

Love you!
Mom

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2009 9:21 am

    Hey, I miss her too- a lot!!! I love the letter- very sweet, I am sure she will get it soon.

  2. July 27, 2009 9:56 am

    What a perfect letter! I’m sure she loved it.

  3. Caroline from L.A. permalink
    July 27, 2009 1:52 pm

    Good mommy!!

  4. Andrea L. permalink
    July 27, 2009 4:48 pm

    What a great letter! And thank you for being who you are!!!

Leave a Reply

