Skip to content

Book recommendations for a soon-to-be 10 year old Soccer Girl

July 14, 2009

kingdom keepersWe’re in the home stretch of packing for camp now.  About 1,000 swimsuits, t-shirts, shorts and various sports paraphernalia are littering the beds in our guest room, waiting to be crammed into a duffel bag to make their way to sleep away camp. 

What was supposed to go in there and isn’t is Girl’s copies of the first two book in the Kingdom Keepers series by Ridley Pearson.  That’s because she finished them before she could leave. 

When I saw her return from a trip to the bookstore with her Grandfather with these in hand, I knew they were right up her alley.  The other series she’s been infatuated with is Sisters Grimm, and this seemed very much the same genre.  She’s gone through books 1-7 of Grimm, so there isn’t much left there either.

So I look to you, dear reader, to show me the next steps.  What’s another great book for a 10 year old girl to pick up?  Could be the same genre, but doesn’t have to be.   I’m sending a copy of one of my favorites, Charlotte Sometimes, in a care package to her -similar fantasy themes, but different.  But what else should I consider?  Any and all recommendations are welcome!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2009 9:44 am

    The Hunger Games! Good for young and not so young adults!

    http://www.amazon.com/Hunger-Games-Suzanne-Collins/dp/0439023483

  2. July 14, 2009 9:48 am

    I forgot to mention it’s kind of sci-fi/fairy tale/girl power.

  3. July 14, 2009 9:52 am

    Would you consider “All of a Kind Family” too dated?
    http://tr.im/shqi

    I wish I could be ten and reading these again for the first time…..

  4. July 14, 2009 9:54 am

    OK – I know I am old…but how about A Wrinkle in Time?
    http://tr.im/shrV

  5. Kathryn permalink
    July 14, 2009 10:02 am

    My niece loves the Warriers series by Erin Hunter. She also read the Golden Compass series, but not sure what age that is for (she’s 11).

    I loved Nancy Drew, but don’t know what age I was. Also liked the Ramona books.

    Kathryn

  6. July 14, 2009 11:06 am

    How about “Lord of the Flies”? Perfect for camp reading!

    Seriously, though, I really liked Edward Eager’s “Magic” books: Half Magic, Magic by the Lake, Time Garden, Knight’s Castle, Magic or Not?, Well-Wishers, and Seven-Day Magic.

    I haven’t read them since elementary school, but I remember really enjoying them back then.

  7. July 14, 2009 10:11 pm

    The Invention of Hugo Cabret. I wouldn’t be surprised if she has already read it but it is a great read.

Leave a Reply

