Skip to content

Jeri Edwards, 1952-2009

July 8, 2009

I got a note from an old friend today, letting me know that Jeri Edwards had passed away.  Jeri, Dan Harkey, and Bob Orfali were some of the first computer bookauthors I worked with, way back during my days at Van Nostrand Reinhold, and later after Wiley acquired the rights to their bestselling client server titles.  Jeri was a force of nature for sure, but as a woman operating in the man’s world that Silicon Valley was at the time, you know she didn’t get where she did by being anything less.  I shared a lot of good times with the three of them, at dinners at IBM conferences, and during visits to San Francisco where they lived.  We also had many discussions about martians, way more than most people in computer books ever get to have. 

Jeri was diagnosed with ovarian cancer soon after she and Bob, her husband, moved to Hawaii ten years ago.  I’m blogging about this for many reasons, but first and foremost to say TEN YEARS!  My mother in law died of ovarian cancer, and had less than 2 years to live after she was diagnosed.  Anytime someone beats the odds, even when the story doesn’t turn out like it should, it’s worth mentioning.

Bob put together a wonderful website that is a fine tribute to this woman.  She will be missed by many.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jen Webb permalink
    July 8, 2009 9:15 pm

    She was quite a force of nature, that is for sure. Thanks for blogging that this happened. I’d forgotten about her/them (now I deal with other authors!), but I’m sad yet happy that she lived for 10 years post-diagnosis. I remember when that news came to us, I was stunned. And then two years after that I accompanied my mom on her own cancer/chemo journey.

Leave a Reply

