Skip to content

Summer Reading Fun

July 6, 2009

summer readingFor the first time in a LONG time, it felt like summer this weekend.  If you don’t live in the Northeast, you probably have had drier weather than we have.  June was one of the wettest on record, with rain or thunderstorms coming most every day. Not exactly the kind of weather that has you dreaming of time outdoors.

However, this past Saturday and Sunday were blissfully dry and sunny.  Not too hot, not too humid.  Just perfect.  And what better way to spend a day like that than finding a good book and curling up in a comfy chair out of doors.  I didn’t get much time for that, having 2 young children and all, but I was curious about those who were planning on spending time reading – what were they reading?  I asked my Twitter followers and Facebook friends and here are the responses I got:

The Seekers

The Secret Mitzvah of Lucio Burke

Things I Want My Daughters to Know by Elizabeth Noble (noted as “not great”)

Into the Beautiful North

Infinite Jest

Olive Kitteridge

The Glassblower of Murano by Marina Fiorato

Sunnyside

Rich Like Them by Ryan D’Agostino

For me, I’m finishing up This Lovely Life, and a review will follow here.  Mr IT, as we know, is a great guy, but doesn’t read.  IT Boy is still a fan of Dora the Explorer’s All Dressed Up book, but had it taken away from him this weekend because he keeps ripping the flaps.  Soccer Girl was in the pool most of the weekend, but when she wasn’t, her nose was firmly ensconced in two books – Kingdom Keepers and Kingdom Keepers II.  Oh boy, is she in love with this series.  Almost cried when I told her the release date for Book #3 is almost a year away.   Interesting to see her reading preferences develop.

What are YOU reading these days?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Julia Lampam permalink
    July 6, 2009 8:13 am

    I’ve finally started reading Kate Summerscale’s The Suspicions of Mr. Whicher: or the Murder at Road Hill House which has been sitting on my bedside table for rather a long time. Only just started it, but it already feels like a page-turner http://tiny.cc/YrYJZ

  2. Constance permalink
    July 7, 2009 8:12 pm

    I am rereading all of Betsy-Tacy as the numerous fans are all heading to Minnesota next week for a convention. I’ve been asked to start twittering so those not attending can follow my every move. I am not sure I want to make the commitment…

  3. July 8, 2009 12:20 pm

    Constance, if you keep it B-T and not Constance related, it’s fun. Imagine all the new Betsy-Tacy fans you can meet on Twitter. The fame! The not quite fortune. Say hi to Senator Franken.

  4. July 9, 2009 1:58 pm

    Sunnyside really looked interesting, so I put it on reserve at the library.
    Do you think those of us who work for publishers should *buy* all our books?

Leave a Reply

