Skip to content

IT Girl’s “World Famous” Pancakes

June 3, 2009

Most everyone who follows my Twitter feed has noticed me on a Saturday or Sunday talking about making pancakes for the family.  It’s a weekend tradition that won’t seem to die.  And that’s a good thing. 

Seeing Al’s adventures in pancake making had me chuckling a bit.  I used to make Bisquick pancakes until I started using an Alton Brown recipe.  About a year ago I was too lazy to create the mix and used Bisquick.  Both Mr. IT and Soccer Girl protested, saying that they really preferred my homemade batch and wouldn’t I please go back to making that.

So I did.  I prefer it because there are no preservatives or other stuff mucking up the mix – just pure honest ingredients.  Alton’s recipe has gotten altered along the way, so I am hoping that I am in fair use when I present to you this adaptation…

The Mix:

  • 6 cups whole wheat flour (you can also use 1/2 wheat and 1/2 AP)
    1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
    1 tablespoon baking powder
    1 tablespoon kosher salt
    2 tablespoons sugar

Combine all of the ingredients in a lidded container. Shake to mix. Use the mix within 3 months.

The Pancakes:

  • 3 eggs, separated
  • 1 cup plain yogurt (prefer lowfat or full fat to fat free)
  • 1 cups milk
  • 1/2 stick melted butter 
  • 2 cups  dry Pancake Mix (see above)
  • 1 very ripe banana
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips (or blueberries, if in season) 

Whisk together the egg whites, yogurt and milk in a small bowl. In another bowl, whisk the egg yolks with the melted butter.  Combine the mixtures from the two bowls and whisk.  Mash banana and add to the mixture.  Add dry pancake “mix” and stir till just mixed.  Drop in chocolate chips (or blueberries, or whatever)  and mix gently.

Lightly butter the fry pan. Drop pancake batter in pan and cook till bubbles form on edges.  Flip and cook the other side.  Serve immediately or place plate in warm oven and keep them there.  remove to a towel-lined baking sheet and cover with a towel. Hold in a warm place for 20 to 30 minutes.

ENJOY!  If you try them, let me know what you think.  Feel free to add your own improvements to the recipe – that’s what this is all about!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2009 9:24 am

    Ellen!
    These sound really good, I bet the yogurt makes them fluffy!
    I can never make a pancake without a flat skillet pan, I have flipping issues! Will have to try this recipe next time.

  2. June 3, 2009 12:54 pm

    Ha! Every search on pancakes has Alton’s recipe and everyone gave it mad props. The only reason I didn’t try it is it involves advanced planning and I’m not too good at that. Plus, I’m making pancakes for only 2 people so I need a recipe that halves easily (well, for 2 1/2 b/c there’s always a mini pancake that goes to the dog.)
    But the best part of this entry is the tag “better than bisquik”. 🙂 I’m glad to see that I’m not the only one who has pancake standards. Pancake Pride!

  3. June 4, 2009 12:19 pm

    I’ll have to try your recipe on Saturday. The one I use (and Al blogged about) has buttermilk, but I could go for a recipe with yogurt…interesting twist.

    I’d say, though, that the syrup is just as important as the actual pancake – warm, REAL maple syrup for me, please.

    I’ve been experimenting for awhile with my standard recipe. Mango granola (Trader Joe’s) is one of our favorite additions. Soak it in the buttermilk/yogurt for a bit before and it softens up nicely. I usually will add flax meal to mine as well.

    Pancake Saturdays and French Toast Sundays at our house…I wouldn’t have it any other way.

    Is it Saturday yet?

  4. June 5, 2009 3:53 pm

    Mmm. All this pancake talk’s making me hungry!

Trackbacks

  1. banana-nut pancakes | Breakfast Recipes
  2. bisquick crepes | Breakfast Recipes

Leave a Reply

