Skip to content

Star Trekking

May 19, 2009

Have you seen it?  Have you seen it?

If you haven’t, ye be warned there are spoilers ahead, matey…

Anyhow, for those living under a rock, the new Star Trek movie opened last weekend.  A movie I’ve been waiting a LONG time to see, and talking about for a long time.  Was it worth the wait?  Hell yes, but I’ll get to that in a moment.

You see, I’m a Trekker.  Or a Trekkie.  Don’t really care which one you use, it’s me.  Admittedly, I *liked* the original Trek, but it was really Next Generation that got me hooked for good.  I watched the others, Deep Space Nine, Enterprise, Voyager, certainly, but there was nothing like ST:TNG for me.  My dad too, as you can see from the picture below:

The family that LL&P together...

The family that LL&P together...

 

 

 

 

 

 

  In fact, one of the highlights of my 40th birthday in Vegas was hitting the Star Trek experience.  Yes, the picture is blurry, but it was only because Mr. IT was so excited to be there that he was shaking.  Yeah, that was why…

STE

 

 

 

  Anyhoo…

With the release date looming, I started making plans.  I had to attend Wiley’s sales conference the week of May 4th, but was able to return home the night of the 7th.  Certainly, I could have planned to catch a midnight showing somewhere, but midnight showings that aren’t Rocky Horror don’t hold much love for me.  No, it would be Friday, the official release day for the movie, that I would plan to see it.

I started Tweeting and emailing friends to see if they were planning on going and when.  Most were not thinking they would get it to see it before Sunday, if not the following weekend.  Horrors!  That simply would. not. do.  *Maybe* I could have waited till Saturday, but certainly not a whole week.

What to do, what do to.  Go see it alone on Friday certainly became the back up plan.  Until I remembered.  The Next Generation.

Soccer Girl=The Next Generation!

Soccer Girl=The Next Generation!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It was time for Soccer Girl to step up to the plate for her dose of Geek.  For really, why do we have kids in the first place if not to pass on our legacies and treasures.  Star Trek certainly qualifies! 

I decided to take her to a showing after school that Friday.  A movie date for us!  I bought tickets to the local fake IMAX in advance, to insure we’d have good assigned seats.  When we showed up, a bit early I might add, there were only a handful of other people in the theatre, and the usher brought us to sit next to some other guy.  I laughed, he laughed, and we put 2 seats in between us.  Soccer Girl looked around and asked where the other women were.  Other guy laughed.  A lot. 

Eventually, the theatre filled, 80% men, 15% women, and 5% that I couldn’t tell in the dark what they were but it was entirely possible they were Ferengi

How did we like the movie?  I loved it.  Kirk was just nicely over the top, and Zachary Quinto (who I loved on “24” as Adam – way before most of you discovered him in “Heroes”, thank you very much) was a pretty good Spock.  It’s hard to play someone who is supposed to be in control of their emotions without detaching yourself.  I like seeing “Spock Prime” in there, though many found that ruined the illusion too much.  I’m thrilled that they broke with canon through that black hole thing, and can establish a new canon alongside the old one.  Brings up so many interesting possibilities.  My only “eeeehhhh” moment was offing Vulcan – I thought that was a pretty bold move for a rookie, if I do say so myself Mr. Abrams.  SG liked it a lot too, but she did cover her eyes through some of the scary parts, and when Kirk was getting busy with the green Starfleet Academy chick.  She also thought it was pretty cool that her mom brought her 9 year old self to a PG-13 movie.  Whatever did it for her, I don’t care.  Her words coming out of the theatre were, “Is there going to be a sequel?”

Oh, I hope so.  I hope so!

LL&P

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2009 8:42 am

    I’m with you. Actually, my Trek-ness is mirror image to yours. I was totally into the original, not so much the later versions. Maybe that’s due to the fact that I’m SO much older than you. 😉

    Anyway, Little Hoff and I took it in together last week at a very rare and special mid-week evening trip to the movies and we both loved it. I think it’s cool that he now “gets” all the basic characters in the canon, even if it’s not through the same lens.

    For me, the highlight was Scotty, who I think they captured spot-on. RIP (in space) James Doohan….

  2. May 19, 2009 9:38 am

    First off the pic of SG is too cute! I loved, loved, loved it. You’d be surprised at how many women were in the theater for Mother’s Day. On the way out one woman said to me, ” A perfect Mother’s Day huh?” She was right. I went with the DH and DS. DD didn’t want to go. We all loved it. Now the DS wants to watch the old one. I left with a huge crush on the “new” Spock. He was so Hot! Loved Bones too. What a fun movie. Can’t wait for the sequel. Tomorrow please.

  3. May 19, 2009 9:54 pm

    I saw Star Trek on Thursday night with a bunch of people from the office and the general consensus was that it was great. As happens so often with me and movies, the more I thought about the movie, the more I started having issues with it. What I did like was that each character had a moment to shine. Interestingly, I was very impressed with the secondary characters; Uhuru, Sulu, Checkov and Scotty. I bought into them almost immediately.

    I had a harder time with the main triumvirate but Chris Pine finally got me when he’s sitting in the Captain’s chair and he’s not even Captain yet. That kind of attitude seemed right for Kirk.

    It’ll be very interesting to see what they manage to do with these characters for the sequel.

  4. May 20, 2009 3:12 pm

    Great post, Ellen — thanks!
    I got hooked on the original series – when it was new. How is that for *old*.
    And for true geekiness –
    My first experience with Usenet was reading the Star Trek newsgroups. On a green screen.

Leave a Reply

