Skip to content

In Bloom

May 18, 2009

The house across the street from us has the most beautiful flowering tree.  Sure, it probably has a name, as well as as kingdom, phylum and species and all that, but to me, it’s a flowering tree.  I don’t possess a great deal of knowledge when it comes to plant-like creatures.

Anyhow, it is a beautiful tree at any time of the year, but most especially in the early spring.  Driving around town a few weeks ago, I noticed many of the dogwood and cherry blossom trees (see! I do know a few names) blooming, but not “our” tree.  Our tree was taking it’s time.  And I waited for it.  I watched, every day, for signs of it’s magificence.  I worried that it would be in full bloom while I was away in Florida for our sales meeting, but it hit pre-peak right before I left.

 

 

 

 

 

 

You can still see a few red buds, but for the most part, it was bloomin’.  It made me happy, thinking about spring.  Amazed in the knowledge that this tree is quiet 50 weeks of the year, and goes into overdrive for 2 weeks, and that’s enough to get us to pay attention.

Of course, our cherry blossom and dogwood are no slouch either.

2009 may pix 026

 

 

 

 

 

 

Reminds me to take a minute and watch the flowers.  Not smell them, just watch them, because otherwise I would sneeze.  But take time and be a part of the change of seasons.  Life goes by too fast otherwise.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2009 9:14 am

    Those are some beauties. We’re really lucky around here. I’ve been telling my kids to look around and not miss out. It goes too fast.

  2. Helmus permalink
    May 18, 2009 12:10 pm

    knew there would be a sneezing comment in there somewhere…

Leave a Reply

