Skip to content

On Being a Soccer Mom

April 6, 2009

Recently I tweeted about how I registered myself in some Twitter directory in the category of SOCCER MOM.  I got a lot of DMs and @ tweets about this. Some said soccer mom was a rather dowdy term, others thought it was cool.

It got me thinking.  I happily call myself as a soccer mom. Why do I do it? Certainly because I am proud of my daughter and her achievements on the pitch. I also do it to defy conventions of what people (read: The Media) has defined “soccer mom” (note the quotes) to be. I don’t drive a mini-van, I’m anything but conventional, and I cannot be easily pigeon-holed.  It’s a little tongue-in-cheek, much like referring to myself as an IT Girl, when my style can best be described as “functional” and I can barely find two socks that match every morning.

But it got me thinking of the dangers of basing your identity on someone else.  What if Soccer Girl up and quits the sport tomorrow?  First, we’d have to rename her, and that was enough effort the first time.  I couldn’t very well tell her she had to stay in the game, because she was already named in the blogosphere – that would be some  QAP, no?  As much as I occasionally gripe about the never-ending schedule that shackles not just her but all of us, I love watching her play.  She really enjoys being out there, and it shows.  The sport has been so good to her, it hurts to imagine it not being a part of her life.  Of ALL OF OUR LIVES.  And therein lies the rub – it’s her out there playing, and as vicarious as we want to get, it’s her choice to be there.   Or as the case might be someday, to not be there.   And then I would be forced to retire the title of soccer mom until I can get IT Boy into the game.

So, for the time being, I will relish my role as soccer mom, wearing the badge proudly.   Boy is waiting in the wings, but hopefully, he’ll be there long enough to be out on the pitch with his sister as his personal coach, teaching him the game she loves.  It’s a great fantasy, no?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2009 2:18 pm

    Is your failure to find matching socks a result of your being an “IT Girl” or a “soccer mom”?

  2. April 8, 2009 10:21 pm

    Hmmm Barbara, I wish I knew. After traveling with my mom for a week, I’d have to say it’s the result of being her daughter.

Leave a Reply

