Skip to content

Zing Zang Zoom! Our Night at the Circus

April 2, 2009

As I previously mentioned, my family got the opportunity attend this year’s Ringling Brothers and Barnum & Bailey Circus at Madison Square Garden.  We were at opening night and had an amazing time. We had planned to bring IT Boy, but he ended up having a hard day, so we brought Soccer Girl’s BFF instead.

I had heard a lot of comments about RBBB – that the 3-ring approach was too much, that the show is too big, and too outdated.  Thankfully, I found none of those things to be true.  In fact, the show was just about perfect.

The beginning of the show is actually the pre-show.  I guess it’s to counteract the people who think you are too far from the action.  You are invited on the show floor for some up close and personal action 1 hour before the show starts.  Knowing the show started at 7:30, we were at MSG at 6 to be ready.  Unfortunately, they didn’t let us in until 6:30, so we had a bit of a wait, which is no fun with kids.  However, as soon as we got in, we went right onto the show floor and didn’t miss a thing.  I’d just advise anyone attending to know that, and plan accordingly.

Once on in the ring, the girls got to try on some costumes.

They're ready!!!

They're ready!!!











There were several clowns doing their clown thing.  I quickly realized that clowns are not scary to me if they talk.  In fact, I found this clown just adorable!

2009-march-circus-026








I got to hang out with Liz, who won my contest for tickets…

2009-march-circus-013










But the most exciting part was yet to come.  Mr IT was pulled into a circus act, by none other than Alex, the Zingmaster!

Ready?  Set?

Ready? Set?

GO!

GO!

2009-march-circus-045

I think I have our holiday card image...

I think I have our holiday card image...



































And this was all BEFORE the show!  We had such a great time, it was hard to imagine it could get better, but it did.  From the acrobats to the animal acts, it was all amazing.   I’m so thankful we had the chance to experience it, and I highly recommend you check out the show, either while it’s still at MSG or when it comes to a city near you.  You won’t be disappointed.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Harry Powers permalink
    August 20, 2009 1:04 pm

    Adorable clown.

    Hi – My daughter is the yellow orange & pink clown.

    The one in green is Book Kennison. I’ve known him for about 5 years. Alot of talent. Ringling has him doing only about 1/2 of the stuff he does.

  2. August 25, 2009 11:18 am

    Awesome Harry! thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

