Skip to content

State of My State

April 1, 2009

Things around here seem to have stabilized into what I can best describe as “the new normal.”   My grandmother is safely ensconced in a nursing home.  The place is good, and she’s doing as well as can be expected, although her PT seems to be ready to discharge her from his service.  It’s hard to tell if he could be trying harder, or at 101 she really cannot be expected to walk again, but it’s hard to fight it and her.  She really doesn’t want to be in PT, and it’s not like she has that much improvement that can be made.   If this were IT Boy I was talking about, it would be a different case.  I’d be in there, pushing him and pushing the therapist.  But this isn’t the same thing.  IT Boy can improve, she just may not be capable of it. 

The Boy is doing well with all his therapies.  His language is just flowing, and he’s started running.  I took him the other day to have his orthopedic inserts created (with a SpongeBob motive, naturally!) which should help his mobility even more.  I think we’ve found a school for him, I just hope they have room for him. 

As for Soccer Girl and me, we’re going on vacation with my mom to Disney World later this week.  We were originally going to take the Boy, but decided at the last minute that the 10% of the vacation that would be good for him was far outweighed by the 90% of extreme torture travel, heat and crowds would put him through.  It’s not like I’m not going to miss him, but I know this is the best decision.  Out of sync-ness doesn’t translate into a good traveler.  As well, Soccer Girl needs some special time, and heaven knows my mom could use a vacation too.  Me?  I’m just grateful our babysitter and Mr IT are picking up Boy duties next week to give us the time away.  We are certainly going to make the most of it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Steve permalink
    April 1, 2009 9:41 am

    The wife and I braved the crowds and tried a day at Animal Kingdom on a whim to kill a few hours before our evening flight on Monday. Um…not so much fun. At every turn, I whispered to myself ‘WWED – what would Ellen do?’

  2. April 1, 2009 10:58 am

    Ellen would have sat on a bench with a Simba’s paw ice cream snack (only served at this park and no other) and people watched. Animal Kingdom is one of the most beautifully themed parks, but unfortunately people overlook that in their rush to get on rides. One of my most enjoyable times was when Soccer Girl bailed on “It’s Tough to be a Bug”. She napped in her stroller while I walked around the tree of life, marveling at how amazing the animal carvings are.

  3. It Sitter permalink
    April 9, 2009 3:11 pm

    It’s IT Sitter….. IT Sitter!!! And I think you made the right choice too. He had a great time here and with no school he had more time to do fun stuff and play with other kids, go on walks and explore playgrounds and much more!!!

Trackbacks

  1. WWED @ WDW? « ConfessionsOfAnITGirl.com

Leave a Reply

