Skip to content

No one wants to deal with a cranky Ellen

March 17, 2009

It’s been a while since I had a good old fashioned rant in these pages…

Recently, my office switched to Microsoft Outlook from another not to be named office email/groupware application.  Overall, I thought then and I still believe this is a good thing.  There is a lot of productivity and features offered by Outlook that Notes didn’t have.  Of course, it’s a bad thing as well, because there is a lot of productivity and features offered by Outlook that Notes didn’t have, and most people don’t know how to use it.

Now, I am certainly not an Outlook expert.  Ask anyone who attends my weekly staff meeting and has to put up with repeated meeting confirmations being sent to them because I cannot figure out how to do the simplest things involving changing rooms.  Or when I cancel the entire series of meetings on my Blackberry, even though it swore I was only deleting the occurrence, not the series.  But no, this isn’t about me…

Yesterday, I was attending a meeting via teleconference from my home office (aka the kitchen table).  I checked the meeting invite for the call in info, but there was none.  I checked the agenda (marked DRAFT) attached to the invite, no call in there either.  I checked around for about 5 minutes, and finally found it in the agenda loaded on our network.

Now, why couldn’t the meeting planner have attached the updated agenda to the meeting invite?  Easy enough to do in Outlook, delete the old, add the new.  Why couldn’t the planner have put the call in info in the invite?  So no one has to hunt for it?  Again, piece  o’ cake.  I can’t tell you how many of my regularly schedueld meetings don’t do this. Of course, there are some meetings I go to that have no invites and I have to create my own to keep track of them.  To these people, I have resolved to send a copy of “Managing Your Life With Outlook For Dummies”. 

Anyone have a favorite Outlook productivity tip to share?  I’ll send a copy of the book to what IMHO is the best one!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2009 4:10 pm

    Boy, glad that never happens here.

  2. Louise Breinholt permalink
    March 17, 2009 6:22 pm

    My recommendations, well actually they came from Susanne Barthelmes of allsortedconsulting.com is to use the drag and drop features i.e. dragging an email into calendars/contact or task as appropriate.
    I also like the Rules function e.g. all twitter.com emails into a twitter folder!

Leave a Reply

