Skip to content

Oscar Night

February 22, 2009

Well, I survived Movie Day.  I saw every minute of each and every picture, except for a 5 minute potty break during Benjamin Button, and believe me, I think they could spare me for that long.

So how did it go?

The day started with MILK.  I honestly think it was as good an experience as movie-going can be.  Sean Penn was amazing – I kept forgetting that he was an actor, he just became Harvey Milk.  The story was interesting and well paced, and the director kept the story tight.  The ending, even though you knew it was coming, took it out of me.   Really liked this one.

And then there was THE READER.  Just didn’t like this one.  Sure, Kate Winslet was good, and Ralph Finnes had a few hottie moments, but the plot was so-so, the accents on the actors were horrible, and I didn’t get drawn into it.  I wouldn’t be upset if Kate won, but I don’t think this movie was anything to write home about.  If it’s true that it took the place of other more worthy films due to another Harvey Weinstein Oscar marketing campaign, that is a total shame.  Skip this, you won’t be missing much.

Benjamin Button was our third film.  While the beginning part of the movie could have been a bit faster paced, it definitely had an interesting story with wonderful acting.  Loved Brad, Love Taraji Henson (where has she been?  Someone give her a lead role, and an Oscar!!) and like Cate (she was very annoying as a young woman, but as she aged she calmed down and stopped overacting.) The ending left me kinda weepy — it was a very moving story, and definitely hit home given my personal life these days.

Slumdog Millionaire was the penultimate film.  I Twittered a lot during this one, mostly to ask WHY THE HECK IT WAS SO VIOLENT?  How how how?  Why why why?  I won’t go into details, but the violence against children in here was horrific, even more so since you can probably imagine that this actually goes on in some way, shape or form.  That said, by the time I got to the end of the film, I was in love with it.  It was very hard to get through, but the ending was worth it.  Danny Boyle’s directing was remarkable, he really owns this success.  I can’t say I would ever watch it again, but I am glad I did see it this one time.

Frost/Nixon was last.  If you don’t know the story of Watergate, and have never seen the interviews, like my movie date, you might love the movie as much as you would love any other Ron Howard movie.  But, if you are a stickler for history, the historical inaccuracies and the fact that most of the movie is basically imagined will drive you crazy.

So, LOVED Milk, Loved Slumdog, really liked Ben Button, liked Frost/Nixon, and would be happy if I never had to hear from The Reader again.  Either of the first 3 could win Best Picture and I would be thrilled.  I haven’t seen Mickey Rourke in The Wrestler, so I can’t say whether he deserves it over Sean Penn, but I think that’s where the competition is.  Kate could win for The Reader, if we just imagine it’s for her whole career, not just this movie.

Lastly, it’s not nominated, this year at least, but if you get a chance, see Coraline.  It’s not a kid’s movie, it’s art.  You can freeze any party of  this movie and have something worthy of framing in a museum.  It was truly a remarkable piece of movie making and I would be very surprised if it was not a nominee, if not a winner, next year.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2009 1:47 pm

    You are my movie day hero. Loved your twitter updates.

  2. February 25, 2009 8:05 am

    movie day. now that’s a lot of movies and popcorn.

Leave a Reply

