Skip to content

Catching Up

February 20, 2009

You know it’s been a long time in blogging when you have to re-login to WordPress…

Anyhow, it’s not for lack of something to say.  I’ve had two business trips in the past 3 weeks, and even though they are not long, with the schedule I keep on the home front, short trips take as much out of you as a lengthier trip would.

At the same time, my grandmother broke her hip last week and required surgery.  She’s 100, so that started us down the path of “what ifs”, as you might imagine.  Thinking about the woman who basically raised me not being around is hard to do.  We were originally hoping she would be released into a rehab hospital, the same one that took care of her 8 years ago when she broke the other hip.  Unfortunately, she’s not going to be able to go through that kind of rehabilitation therapy, so we’re instead looking for a nursing home facility where they can do more gentle rehab to hopefully get her walking again. 

And on the flip side of the age spectrum is the Boy.  We had his annual review, and looking through the reports from all his therapists showed progress, but it was certainly more minor than we were hoping for.  He started ABA therapy, as recommended by his school and his EI coordinator.  The woman who has given him the therapy literally lives across the street from us – small world.  He’s responded well in the sessions, which average 2 hours at a stretch.  Heck, I’d be pitching a hissy fit if you were trying to engage me for half that length.  He’s also been recommended to receive orthopedic devices for his feet, to help him make more gross motor gains.  I have to admit that I’ve named myself Anti-Munchausen – every time I get sent to a new doctor or therapist, I’m praying that they tell me I’m crazy and making everything up, to “just get outta here, your son is fine!”  But that doesn’t seem to happen. 

“Hello, I’m the IT Girl, and I have a special needs child.”

(“Hi IT Girl!”)

If I sound like I’m pouring drinks at a pitty party, I’m really not.  I’m so fortunate to have had a grandmother for as long as I have, and I’m happy that I am able to be here for my mom (because her @#$%head brother certainly isn’t – what kind of person lives an hour away and doesn’t call or visit his own parent?  More on him in another venomous and bitter post someday) as she really needs my support.  Mr IT has been so supportive and helpful through all of this, and I’m so grateful to have him and 2 amazing kids to come home to.  I just have to take it day by day and see where it all leads.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura Cowan permalink
    February 20, 2009 4:57 pm

    Sounds like a rough week. Hang in there. 🙂 My grandma also just broke her hip, was released from rehab and moved into assisted living only to break her pelvis a few days later, so I kind of know the feeling. You’re right: one day at a time is always best. Thanks for the reminder.

  2. February 20, 2009 4:58 pm

    Sending good vibes your way. Hope you trip to Indy was yumalicious at least 🙂

  3. February 20, 2009 5:03 pm

    Sorry to hear about your granma. Mine both died while I was in grade school.

    was in Indy this week, as well. Snuck off one evening and had sushi at Sakura (Keystone and 71st). Not Boston, but damn good.

  4. February 20, 2009 6:08 pm

    Wow, Laura, how is your grandma doing now?

    Thanks Jeanette – we had dinner at Maggiano’s in Indy, which was lovely.

    Barbara, must try that Sushi place!

  5. February 20, 2009 10:35 pm

    ellen,
    i have chocolate for you. our neighbor’s mom is 101 – I am so impressed with all that living, and I have been thinking about your grandma.

    if you need anything ever – call on me. life of course has a way of handing out stuff to those that can deal, guess that is why he chose you! you are doing your bestest!
    pve

  6. February 21, 2009 12:30 pm

    One word: HUGS.

Leave a Reply

