Skip to content

Social Networking at Work – Who Does What?

January 30, 2009

In what has become a 3 part arc, today I am going to talk about who should do what at work when it comes to social networking.

It’s inspired by a question I got recently from a co-worker who knows of my interest in this area.  Said person spoke of recently joining Twitter and asked if I was ok with it. 

OK with it?  I was practically jumping for joy.  This isn’t something that one person can or should cover for a department, much less an organization.

I’ve certainly had a reputation of someone who would, shall we say, lose her patience with people who in my eyes were doing my job.  For example, an editor collaborated with an author on a promotion by committing to place an ad in a publication, and bringing me, the marketer, in as an afterthought (I don’t work with this person anymore).  That’s not cool.  As I asked said editor, how would you feel if I contacted your author and negotiated royalties for his next book?  That’s how it is – you’re committing my marketing funds, which isn’t in your stable to do.  I’m happy to collaborate on ideas, but know that I don’t appreciate being brought into these things when they are a fait accompli.

But this isn’t the same thing.  Using social networking tools to communicate with customers, prospective customers, and never will be customers is something that everyone in an organization should do in some way, shape or form.  Each person can find a way to make them work.  For instance, an editor in one of my groups uses LinkedIn all the time to ask questions about prospective book topics and to find authors.  A production manager has found a niche on a grammar forum answering questions.  I’ve had people who you wouldn’t expect would care about this stuff come to me with Facebook fan/group pages established for their brand or product, and asking what I thought.  Another marketer is blogging about stuff that has nothing to do with his job, but he’s making a name for himself in his work field nonetheless. 

It’s all out there for us, and all we have to do is dip a toe in.    There’s so much out there, it’s impossible for one person to do it all.  The more of us who are out there, the better, in my opinion. 

In my next post (yes!  dragging this out more) I’m going to ask more questions than answer them when I tackle what do to when you’ve established beach heads on all these sites and have to keep the momentum going.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Steve permalink
    January 30, 2009 10:44 am

    Re: paragraph 4 – as someone who has met the wrath of Ellen for violating those rules, I’m proud to say I’ve learned my lesson and rarely even use the restroom without alerting my marketer first! : )

Leave a Reply

