Skip to content

I speak for all women when I say, “Leave Jessica Alone!”

January 28, 2009

6dcd16b36e_jesssimpsons_01272009I may not be a fan of Jessica Simpson’s, nor is this a weight-loss/healthy eating/put down those nachos kind of blog, but I couldn’t let this one go…

I’m here to say leave Jessica alone.

In case you have no idea what I am talking about, do a Google news search on “Jessica Simpson.”  You will find hundreds of articles talking about how “porky” (Boston Herald) her “noticeably fuller figure” looks (Fox News) and how she has “let herself go” (Australian Herald Sun).

No, I’m not linking to any of these articles.  You’ll have to do the work yourself.  They don’t deserve traffic from my site.  At last count, there were 300.

I saw the pictures.  She looks NORMAL.  Like any woman you’d see at a PTA meeting, or at the mall.  Just blonder, and with a thicker accent that I am used to.  Sure, she’s busty.  What of it?  She’s not a size zero, but guess what, neither am I.  Neither is anyone else I know. 

Why is this news?  As much of a publicity seeker as Ms. Simpson can be, I don’t suppose even she appreciates what’s being said about her. 

I’m not one to articulate why, as a mother of a daughter, this sends such a horrible message to women and girls everywhere.  I leave that to people more in tune to this world than I am. 

What I can and will say is STOP.  This is not acceptable.  I, as a wife, mother and woman say the more we condone and accept this treatment by the media, the more it becomes ok.  It is not OK to pick on this woman because she does not fit into some crazy ideal of womanliness.   She’s herself, and obviously comfortable in her skin – who are we to comment? 

I may have to turn in my “Team Lachey” t-shirt, but yes, defending Jessica is worth it.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2009 6:08 pm

    I hear ya. It’s horrible. The Post did a terrible cartoon on her today. She should sue. It’s making woman and especially our girls crazy.

  2. Jenny Webb permalink
    January 28, 2009 8:15 pm

    Please don’t turn in your Team Lachey t-shirt….

  3. John permalink
    January 29, 2009 11:50 am

    I made a conscious decision a couple of years ago to give up gossip magazines, blogs, TV shows, and news articles about celebrities. (I’m not Chris Crocker, but it was based on the obsession over Britney.) It was like quitting smoking at first, but I really wanted to take a stand against what I think has become an unhealthy national obsession with the personal lives of celebs. However, one person’s crusade doesn’t make much of an impact, and it’s still going strong 2 years later.

    Anybody want to join me?

    • January 29, 2009 4:44 pm

      I think it’s a great idea. I used to read all the trashy magazines until I realized they were all talking about the same crap. I don’t think I could go cold turkey (what’s a visit to the UK without “OK” and “Hello”) but I certainly think I can be more thoughtful when confronted with this “media”.

  4. January 29, 2009 11:17 pm

    stupidity. pure. (I never read gossip magazines or blogs or watch the TV shows. Boring. But, I do take a dip in the very dirty E channel on occasion.)

  5. February 7, 2009 9:57 am

    nice artile.

Leave a Reply

