Skip to content

We Remember Our Veterans

November 11, 2008

poppy20remembranceToday is Veterans Day.  On this day, the Girl Scouts of our provincial village, and neighboring provincial villages, are remembering our men and women who served our country by participating in a wonderful event.  Scouts bring cookies to our local church where they are bagged up and matched with a card made that day by one of the Brownies.  They then set out to deliver them to veterans in the area.  This was something started by our scouts almost 8 years ago, and has since spread to many other towns in the area.  We’re very proud of this. 

I was fortunate enough to be able to participate in this when I was on maternity leave 2 years ago.  It was amazing to see how many veterans were up and waiting, some in uniform, for their visit from the Scouts.  I remember being in one cul de sac where the house numbers were ordered a bit wonky.  I was wandering around with fellow scout mom PVE when we heard a woman cry, “Over here, he’s over here!”  A lovely man was waiting on his porch for his cookie delivery.  It was an amazing thing.  We also had our moments of sadness, when we would go to a house and find the intended recipient of our treats had passed away.   But all in all, it was an uplifting day, knowing you had made a difference in the lives of people in your own community.  

Last year and this year, since I could not go on the deliveries due to work commitments, I made sure to bake cookies to be included in the distribution.  These people put their lives on the line for me, least I can do is break out the butter and the Betty Crocker, you know.   It’s much more personal than getting a baggie filled with crumbly Oreos.  To mark the day, I’m wearing my remembrance day poppy that I got in London last month.  I think this is a lovely tradition – you see so many people in the UK wearing them, and really getting behind what they represent. 

Good luck to our scouts on their deliveries!  I’ll be thinking about all of you!

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 16, 2008 6:22 pm

    Very uplifting!

Leave a Reply

