Skip to content

What I am reading

October 9, 2008

Contrary to my previous posts, I do actually get a chance to read books every once in a while.  Of course, I suffer from the horrific problem of not finishing most of what I read.  Especially with non-fiction, I often start books, get into the middle, and then drop off.  The following are 3 books that I am reading and am damn close to making it all the way to the end of.  In order of pages read…

Moose: A Memoir of Fat Camp by Stephanie Klein.  So I’m a little late to the party on this one.  I read her first book, Straight Up and Dirty, and am a reader of her blog.  This one seemed to hit a bit too close to home to pick up.  I had to weight wait until I was down 2 stone (figure it out for yourself, non-Anglophiles) to pick it up.  I’m glad I did.  It’s funny in parts, and terribly touching in others, without making the reader feel like it’s needlessly playing with your emotions.  Yes, I can totally relate with some of the things that she relays in the book, but thankfully I am far enough from them that I can look back without too much angst.  I’m 2 chapters from the end, so this one is totally in the bag for me. 

I’m also reading The Mind of Boysby Michael Gurian.  It’s published by Wiley, so I’ve known about this book for a while.  It wasn’t until I walked into Boy’s preschool and saw that the place was full of boys that I reached for it.  What, I wondered, is going on in the world that a school for kids with speech and developmental delays is populated almost solely with boys?  While what they talk about in the book isn’t necessarily for his age group, it is a great way to prepare for elementary school and beyond.  It makes the point that boys learn differently from girls, and that our educational systems are most often geared toward the learning styles of girls.  I’m about half-way through, and it really is enlightening.  If you are the parent of a boy, you owe it to your child to read this book. 

Finally, the book that I really need to sit down and take the time to read properly, not in between bites of frozen pizza.  The 3 Big Questions For A Frantic Family is the latest from our powerhouse business author Pat Lencioni.  His other books have been for the business shelf.  This is his first book that takes a look at business principles to family life.  In a way, this is something that the IT family needs desperately.  When I started reading bits of “Theresa’s” story, I saw a lot of myself in it.  Too much even.  From the little I have read, it’s already caused me to think of things in a new way.  I’m still in the process of digesting the first question, that is defining what makes your family unique.  As I get through this one, and questions 2 & 3, I will be continuing the discussion here.  Once I find the time, that is, to learn about why I never seem to have any time.  Ah paradoxes.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2008 7:23 pm

    Oh, you’re a doll. Thank you. Also, I’m telling all my designer friends about your contest. I would enter myself if I had the time.
    xo

  2. October 21, 2011 10:31 am

    Um, I’m a boy and I don’t fit that mould. Think critically about what creates sex differences. Consider reading “Delusions of Gender: How Our Minds, Society, and Neurosexism Create Difference”. It’s actually a really solidly scientific, rigorously researched, serious book. And it dismantles a lot of the myths out there which justify the whole dominant-aggressive-male-vs.-submissive-nurturing-female meme. Important stuff if you don’t think, for example, that that man on Long Island shouldn’t have beaten his girlfriend’s toddler son to death because he acted too “girly” and he wanted him to “man up”.

Leave a Reply

