Skip to content

Name my kids!

October 6, 2008

Little IT, sneak that she is, frequently reads over my shoulder when I am on the laptop.  Mostly, I shoo her away, but sometimes she sees stuff anyhow.  Namely, the name I call her when I write about her…Little IT.

“Why am *I* Little IT when <boy> is smaller than me?”  Ok, she said littler, but I had to correct the grammar.

“Why can’t I be IT Girl while he is IT Boy?’

“Because I am IT Girl…”

This makes no sense to her, and she has asked that I take a poll on the blog to find her a new name.  At the same time, I think the Boy should have a complimentary name.  For the record, I don’t like using their real first names.

So here are our choices:

1. Girl

2. Mini-Me

3. Use her first inital

4. something else

Nothing else really came to mind, so use the comments space to help us find something good.  She picks all the winners, so try hard for her.  The winner will get a free computer book published by Wiley – yeah, I’m ponying up here, go for it!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2008 1:47 pm

    How about Miniapp and Widgette? Where geek meets cute!

  2. Steve permalink
    October 6, 2008 1:48 pm

    OK, trying to keep at least some consistent form here for your blog….

    GK Girl (goalkeeper…yes, I have a one-track mind)

    and

    QT Boy (cutie!).

    Although, he’ll probably make you change that one when he turns 14. 😉

  3. October 6, 2008 1:50 pm

    You know, those of us who enjoy your videos know their real names…Just saying.

    Jeff Zeldman used to refer to his daughter by her first initial, but I notice is not using her full name.

    If this is a vote, can I cast my ballot for the status quo?

  4. October 6, 2008 1:51 pm

    Let her name herself.

    Doesn’t everyone secretly wish they got to pick their own name? At her age I believe my alter-ego was “Trixie.” Sad but true. (Course she will rename herself often.)

  5. October 6, 2008 2:15 pm

    Well, I would agree to letting her name herself, however, I do think she would love to called “Awesome IT” or Big-it, o wait, that did not come out right, so what about Sister it… dig it or not?

  6. October 6, 2008 4:03 pm

    Great ideas so far!

    One caveat – she asked for the poll, so she’s perfectly happy to see what people come up with. In fact, she nagged me all weekend to put up this post.

    Barbara, I know I have no consistency on this, so people should vote for “real names” as they do get used at times on other social sites.

  7. October 6, 2008 4:19 pm

    I really think that you, Ellen, should be IT MOM but the name of your blog is Confessions of an IT Girl. Your hubby is IT Husband, then the kids are IT Girl and IT Boy. But I like to fight the system.

    Knowing that you cannot change the name of YOU or your blog, Little IT needs to be either Little IT or how about Little IT Girl (LIG)????

  8. John permalink
    October 6, 2008 4:52 pm

    ITG2.

  9. October 6, 2008 8:00 pm

    I vote for ‘something else”. How does “Missy IT” sound?

    sounds a little more grown-up – but not more so than IT Girl (Mom), I have lots of daughters and granddaughters of all ages and think this would cover any of them if the were in an “IT” family! Good Luck with the contest ‘Little IT’ > sorry; but that is your current name for now, at least. Hope someone comes up with a really great new one for you! Thank you for trusting us to find a new name for you! Talula (mom, grandmom, and former teacher).

  10. Gordon permalink
    October 10, 2008 7:34 pm

    IT Kid

  11. October 13, 2008 8:26 am

    He IT and She IT. Just enunciate carefully.

  12. LouiseB permalink
    October 13, 2008 9:06 am

    Did you know that in our Singapore office many colleagues of Chinese origin were given a chinese name at birth and then they chose more western sounding names for themselves when they get older. Whereas I was appaulled that they think westerners won’t be able to pronounce chinese names (probably true – but we’ll need to get with the 21st century and work on that one!), they all really like this idea and are keen to tell you the meaning of their names because that’s how they choose them – not because they sound pretty or they know someone with that name, but what they mean. The result is some very strange names…

    Anyway, my vote is for the very creative Miniapp and Widgette
    – though that could lead to several name changes as new technologies develop!

  13. Cara permalink
    October 13, 2008 6:28 pm

    I like to refer to my sibs as their American Indian names that I thought up for them a while ago. One is “Crying Matriarch” and the other is “Thunder Stealer.” Perhaps you can name your son and daughter something American Indian-like that fits their personalities?

  14. It Sitter permalink
    October 13, 2008 9:05 pm

    Sumsi and IT-Kid (E, you know which one is which…!)

  15. Julie permalink
    October 15, 2008 9:32 pm

    What about Princess Angel? I also like Mini-me but it isn’t feminine sounding.

Trackbacks

  1. Last call to “Name My Kids”! « ConfessionsOfAnITGirl.com
  2. IT’s Time to Vote! « ConfessionsOfAnITGirl.com

Leave a Reply

