Skip to content

Double take

October 1, 2008

In the category of “did I seriously just see this on TV”, I bring you one of 3 TV commercials currently running that promote high fructose corn syrup:

I really thought the engergizer bunny would come marching out announcing it was all a joke.  Is the corn lobby serious?  Eliminating as much HFCS as possible from my family’s diet has been a priority for a while now.  We try to eat as many “real” foods as possible, cooking many meals from scratch, or purchasing prepared foods from places like Trader Joe’s where they carry few if any products containing HFCS.  So many studies have shown HFCS is unhealthy and  is contributing to the obesity of our children.   This campaign is as bad as the tobacco lobby maintaining that smoking is safe.   Don’t be fooled by marketing, do the research for yourself.  Better yet, cut out HFCS as well as other sweeteners, artificial and otherwise, from your diet.  Just don’t get down on me when you see me with a Diet Coke later.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Shauna permalink
    October 2, 2008 9:56 am

    I’m so glad you blogged about this. I saw the same commercial and could not get over it. If they are this brazen in their advertising, I can only imagine what they’re lobbyist are doing.

  2. October 2, 2008 10:49 am

    Crazy commercials! Eliminating the HFCS from our diet has been one of the best thing we’ve done. I find it interesting that the commercials never actually detail the ‘claim’s, more just stammer about them. I hate it when an industry speaks for all everyone…like my dad (a farmer) wants his grandkids eating the stuff.

    And don’t even get me started on how Gerber continues to include HFCS in their toddler snacks….ugh.

    On a side note, not sure if your local dairies are removing the hormones from the milk…almost all of ours are. Yay!

  3. October 2, 2008 1:20 pm

    Shauna – I found all the commercials on YouTube, most with comments ranging from “WTF?” to stronger versions of that. At least most people aren’t falling for it, but you know some people will.

    Ash, We shop at a store that makes their own milk…

    http://www.stewleonards.com

    They do not use BGH. If we cannot get their milk, we buy organic. I request organic milk in my starbucks. Good for your local dairies1

  4. October 4, 2008 3:17 pm

    It’s so bad. I saw this commercial the other night. I cut HFCS out and stopped having headaches. It’s bad for you – no matter what advertisements try and say.

Leave a Reply

