Skip to content

Happy Banned Books Week!

September 30, 2008

Yesterday marked the start of Banned Books Week 2008.  And what better way to celebrate than to remove books you find questionable from a library in a small Alaskan town pick up a book from the ALA’s list of most challenged of 2007.  Thankfully, two books (“Beloved”, “The Bluest Eye”) from one of my favorite authors, Toni Morrison, were off the list.  But Ms. Morrison is still on the top 10 most challenged author list.   Seriously people, what up with that? 

I didn’t see Judy Blume on the list, but she has been there before.  I don’t know how I could have gotten through adolescence without her. 

Why not stop into your local library, and find out how they respond to people who want books removed?  I talked to my local librarian who all but laughed at me when I inquired as to whether she or the library board bans books.  But I don’t exactly live in the kind of place that does that.  If you live in a “red state”, have the conversation.  Understand what goes on, so you can be informed.  This video from the American Library Association could be your reality.  

Remember, if you don’t like it, don’t read it.  If you don’t want your kids reading it, don’t let them.  But you don’t have the right to make that decision for me or anyone else.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2008 5:17 pm

    Great post Ellen. It’s so important that we keep the government out of our book list.

  2. September 30, 2008 11:20 pm

    Dude if I was allowed to go around banning books you know the libraries would be bare naked of Bratz and Barbies and those damned Princesess. Then the dreaded Twilight series and it’s total lack of female self-preservation instinct.

    Better not allow book banning cause Tracee Sioux would have a much different criteria for banning books.

    LOL

  3. October 1, 2008 10:54 am

    Tracee, I hear ya. I’m co-chair of the book fair at school. Coming after years of “hand selling” the kids when they come in with their allowance money to purchase books, it’s going to be interesting. I always try to steer the kids away from the silly and towards good books. As Girl says when it is time for checkout, “Is this crap or is it ok?” So, I’m not subtle. So what? Nothing is more rewarding than finding the right book that totally clicks with a kid. And you can bet your bippy it’s not going to be a Bratz or Barbie boook.

Leave a Reply

