Skip to content

A momentary loss of muscular coordination

September 29, 2008

I’m feeling kind of out of wack these days. 

Last week, I was ranting and raving about the upcoming election to my mother.  Mostly about how I can’t believe the crap the McCain camp is throwing around, can you believe this Palin chick, and who is going to fall for this.  Mother is through all of this strangely silent.  Then I realize, she’s in.  She’s falling for this.  She’s planning on voting for McCain.

Other than the fact that that I totally disagree with her, this throws my whole world into disarray.  You see, the one constant in my life is that my parents never agree with each other.  And now, they do.

They divorced when I was very young, so I didn’t grow up with them both in the same house.  This certainly helped with the balancing act.  The NY liberal and the Texas conservative are never in agreement. It’s the surest bet you could ever make.  They’re total opposites, and it’s been a constant in my life for some time.  But now, they’re in agreement on who they want to be the next leader of the free world.  How?  Why?

This is causing a disturbance in the Force.  My ying is out of balance from my yang.  No wonder my vertigo is making a reappearance.

I have no shot trying to chance my dad’s vote.  Even my stepmother is not capable of that.  But I still have 30 some days to work on my mom.  First step, the Obama-Biden bumper sticker Moveon.org is sending.  It will look great on her Camry!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Steve permalink
    September 29, 2008 12:54 pm

    Try printing her some of these: http://printthetruth.com

  2. September 29, 2008 3:27 pm

    Oh, I feel your pain. I think we should move to a single 6-year term b/c I can’t handle the family strain every four years.
    Check out my husband’s blog for several good arguments to offer your mother… (link provided above…)

  3. September 29, 2008 6:37 pm

    Poor you. But you’re strong. I’m sure you can handle the job. Try this from Sara Silverman. As long as she can handle the four letter words she’ll laugh all the way to the polls.
    The Great Schlep

    http://www.thegreatschlep.com/site/index.html

Leave a Reply

