Skip to content

Bite me

September 12, 2008

It’s September, start of another fall TV season.  Thankfully, we have a new vampire series to look forward to.

What, you don’t look forward to things vampiric?  I do.  Always have.

Favorite muppet?  Count von Count.

My first Goth role model

My first Goth role model

Favorite book?  “Dracula”, of course.  Since junior high.   Now I’m reading “Twilight” and all that.

Anne Rice and Buffy also rank high on my hit parade.

So it was an awakening of sorts to see the billboard in front of the Lincoln Tunnel on my morning commute.  It was for a product called “Tru Blood” and it billed itself as a synthetic product for vampires.  Since HBO usually has this space, I scanned the billboard for some sign of what the product was, and sure enough, you could see “HBO” in small print at the bottom.  I figured it had to be a new show, but what, I did not know.

I could have Googled “Tru Blood” but instead checked out HBO On Demand on my cable system.  Over the summer, they had posted short 3 minute videos about how vampires were real, and with the advent of the True Blood product were coming out of the coffin, so to speak, to live among humans.  Each video mentioned a number of different web sites, which were integral to the viral nature of the marketing.  I learned the show was from Alan Ball, who was behind the wonderful “Six Feet Under”, giving it all the earmarks of a show that I will love.

“True Blood” premiered on Sunday, but I was bathing IT Boy and packing for a trip and did not get a chance to view it.  For those who did, what’s the verdict?  Is it something I will embrace?  Will it last, unlike “Moonlight”, which when it started to get good faced cancellation and time-slot shifting?  Or is it a television gaja, a poser, a pretender, not worthy of my time?  I need to see episode 1 before episode 2 airs on Sunday.  Do tell, my friends, do tell. 
5 Comments leave one →
  1. John permalink
    September 12, 2008 9:32 am

    Well, coming from that neck of the woods, the accents were pretty awful across the board. So it was tough getting past that. And the fact they’re in the wrong geographic area for all the Cajun-isms going on. Otherwise, it has potential, but the first episode was very slow.

  2. Steve permalink
    September 12, 2008 9:50 am

    If you’re not adverse to picking up a comic book, the Season Eight series of Buffy comics is pretty much awesome. It picks up where the series ended. The thing I like about them is the writing mirrors the tone and humor of the early seasons.

    In case you’re interested and don’t want to hang out at your local comic shop:

    http://tinyurl.com/buffy1
    http://tinyurl.com/buffy2

    Re: Tru Blood – didn’t watch either. I’ve heard from a few people they were intrigued enough after the first episode to keep watching.

  3. Steve permalink
    September 12, 2008 10:49 am

    That HBO on Demand. So handy! Can’t get that on Satellite. 🙂

  4. September 13, 2008 12:07 am

    I’m watching it right now and considering becoming an actress so I can get the Louisiana accent right for once. And it’s kind of poorly written. But I can see myself watching this, it’s like Nip Tuck meets vampires.

  5. September 17, 2008 9:18 pm

    My friend said it’s her new guilty pleasure. I don’t have HBO.

Leave a Reply

