Skip to content

Who lives in a pineapple under the sea?

September 9, 2008

Every kid, at some time, develops an attachment to a character.  It might be Elmo, or Steve from Blue’s Clues, or even that dammed gecko on the Geico commercials. 

IT Boy has never been one to watch TV for himself.  He never wants to sit still that long.  Sure, an Optimum Online commercial comes on, and he’ll stop and stare.  But no Sesame Street, Dora or anything like that.

Until we noticed him saying “Bob Bob”.  I thought I was hearing things, until I realized he was watching Spongebob.  We started putting it on for him, and even though he rarely watches it for more than 5 minutes at a time, he was watching it.  I pulled out a stuffed Spongebob I got for Little IT and gave it to him.  At first he was freaked out (the thing is about as big as he is) but he quickly learned to engulf him in a big bear hug.

His speech teacher recommended that we go with it, so he now has a full setting of Spongebob dinner wear and a placemat.  This is getting him excited about sitting through his OT sessions where he learns to hold a fork and eat.  I sent him to school on his first day with a SB backpack and in a SB t-shirt.  Gotta stack the deck in our favor, you know.  When I put him on the bus for the first time yesterday, I told him to talk to BobBob, and that seemed to calm him.  We even got him a cake with SB on it for his 2nd birthday.

If I could only find crib sheets for him.  Something about SB being more appropriate for the over 5 set.  Whatever.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2008 10:52 am

    We sit down and read the paper while my kids, wife and I watch Spongebob every Sunday morning! :) Good stuff!

  2. September 9, 2008 10:54 am

    Spongebob totally rocks.

    My kids (10 and almost 6) have enjoyed him for a while. The thing that slays me is that Max (now in 1st grade) picks up some amazing vocabulary (including idiomatic phrases) from the show.

    Like other classic cartoons (e.g., Rocky & Bullwinkle), Spongebob appeals on many levels, to children as well as adults.

  3. September 9, 2008 11:24 am

    I feel like I’ve seen Sponge Bob crib sheets. Maybe Target?

Trackbacks

  1. 1 week, 5 days « ConfessionsOfAnITGirl.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

