Skip to content

Spell Checker

August 20, 2008

Few things in life make me happier than a really great typo.  I’m not a frustrated English major, but I certainly work with a few of them.  Most publishing houses are filled with the type.  You can pick them out easily on our cafeteria any given day.  They walk around with their grease pencils, ready to draw them out a moments notice to correct the typos on the menus.  And they do.  Sometimes, they get into fights about who gets to make the correction.  I kid you not.  I’m certainly not saying I’m perfect in this area, mind you.  I’m confident that there are people who want to take grease pencil to this blog, and for not doing that I thank you for your restraint.  The spell checker in wordpress catches a lot, but you’re left with the grammar of a history major, so take it for what it’s worth. 

Anyhow, yesterday I got something in the mail promoting a new business in town.  Eager to put their best foot forward, they sent out a substantial 8.5 x 11 cardstock postcard with descriptions and a schedule of their classes, promotional discounts, and endorsements (with lots of !!!! in them).  I scanned it quickly, and then put it aside to toss it recycle it.  Somehow, I came back to it, as I wondering where this new busienss had located itself.  When I read their location, I fell over laughing. 

"Learning" indeed!

Yeah, that’s going to win them some friends in the community.  I wonder if the folks at Lakeshore Learning have seen it yet? 

As soon as I picked myself up off the floor, I called my friend Rina.  She’s kind of a typo-junkie herself.  She loves reading menus, especially from ethnic restaurants, calling them “hotbeds” in the hunt for good typos.  I asked if she had seen the “Great Play” brochure, and she said no.  When I told her about the typo, she begged for me to save the piece and send it to Jay Leno for The Tonight Show.  “Promise me you will, because if you won’t, I will!!!”  I haven’t heard her so happy in a long time.  I swear she may actually have been jumping up and down.  Boy, there’s just nothing like a good typo to make your day.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Editor permalink
    August 20, 2008 1:27 pm

    So I probably shouldn’t point out that you missspelled “business” at the end of line 5 in paragraph 2. 🙂 Leno will probably love the Lakewhore bit.

  2. August 20, 2008 4:56 pm

    I totally jinxed myself on that one. In tribute, I will not correct it and let it be “bait” for those to be drawn to my site, grease pencil in hand.

  3. August 20, 2008 11:56 pm

    Hey, you don’t know where those tutors moonlight ; – )

  4. August 21, 2008 12:25 pm

    I love that! You have to send it to Jay.

  5. August 21, 2008 1:32 pm

    lol

Leave a Reply

