Skip to content

Stay-cation, all I ever wanted…

August 18, 2008

Today marks the start of my summer vacation.  Except it’s really not.  Yes, I am taking this week off from work, but no, I’m not really going anywhere.  First off, Mr. IT’s working this week.   Since we went away during both winter and spring breaks this year, we decided to take off alternating weeks to be with the kids and give my mom a break from child-sitting duties.  Mr. IT’s week off was last week, during which he hit the pool and the mall with the kids.  Me, I’m planning on a trip with the kids and some friends to the Dutchess County Fair and some pool time.  We did go to my mom’s cottage this weekend and visited the Polish Town Fair, so really, what more excitement can you expect after that?

I hate the word “staycation” but that’s exactly what I am doing.  Certainly the economy was a factor, but truth be told, I’m worn out and need a break.  Anyone who has traveled with kids can tell you there is little relaxing about the experience.  I dreaded the thought of packing, unpacking, long car trips, and meals on the road.  Hanging out in the house is just fine by me.

It’s also IT Boy’s week off.  He’s got 2 sessions today, and one tomorrow, but then he is done.  He’s been pretty feisty in his sessions lately.  Not sure if it was having Daddy home (not Daddy’s fault, mind you) but he was acting up with all his therapists.  Maybe taking some time off and recharging the batteries is what he needs too.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2008 1:16 pm

    Enjoy your ‘staycation’. That is kind of a cute and annoying word all at the same time.

  2. August 20, 2008 6:48 am

    As long as you come out Riverhead way, there’s an interesting exhibit of John Lennon’s drawings out a bit farther in Southampton. Sorry, but I forget the gallery.

    There was a GREAT exhibit of Beatles-related photos and art–of them and by them, as well as a lesser selection of and by other pop/rock music icons of the last 40 or so years. It was at Martha Clara (the Entenmann family’s vineyard). This show’s been held annually for a few years and is, I’ve found–twice now–a kick.

    Watch for this show next year. (I’m not affiliated with the Entenmann family, or Martha Clara, or any other vineyard, tho’ my older stepson plays a couple of them regularly.)

  3. August 20, 2008 10:42 am

    That’s a great tip! Thanks for sharing, Stephen. I have to head back out there to pick up my mom (her car is having issues) so I might just be able to check it out!

Leave a Reply

