Skip to content

The Dancing Faux-Lesbians of Section 4R

August 5, 2008

What is it with concerts today?  Am I just going to all the old people shows where no one wants to get off their ass and MOVE?

Last night was show #1 of The Police and Elvis Costello at Jones Beach.  I went with my college roommate and good friend Liz.  Our seats were in the middle of the theatre on the right side.  Not bad, but there aren’t too many bad seats at Jones.

I knew from seeing the bands in LA that Elvis has a tendency to go on early.  We were in our seats at 7pm, ready for anything.  Once again, Elvis went on 5 minutes early, so we were well prepared.  Our section was mostly empty, so when we were overcome by the beat of “Pump IT Up”, we were able to dance without obscuring the views of our seatmates, or bumping into anyone.  I figured once the Police came out, everyone in the section would be up anyhow.

Uh uh.  No go.  We were the only ones in section dancing.  At one point, I turned around and saw others on their feet.  I yelled to LIz, “We’re not alone, yeah!”  She replied that they were probably standing up because they couldn’t see around us.   Oh.  We figured people were cursing us.  We also figured people thought we were on a date, because we kept asking our seat mates to take pictures of us.  They probably assumed we were together and drunk, neither of which was accurate.  We just like to dance. 

*Not that there's anything wrong with that

*Not that there's anything wrong with that

As you can see from the picture above, I wore my super cool Elvis shirt I bought last summer when I saw him in London.  How can you not dance when you are in a cool shirt like that?

I’m assuming there will be a LOT of dancing Thursday night.  I certainly will be.

C’mon people, this is a concert, not a funeral.  And it’s the last week the Police are performing together.  Get on your feet and dance like the faux-lesbian that you are!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2008 9:55 pm

    The police are like what – 50? Yeah, you’re going to old people shows. I’d have danced for sure.

  2. August 7, 2008 10:04 am

    Stewart is 56.
    Sting will be 57 in October.
    Andy is 65.

    They moved more than the whole audience did! The only one who was sitting was Stewart – he’s the only one SUPPOSED to be sitting!

  3. August 7, 2008 11:35 pm

    How fun! I’m very jealous as I love Elvis too. Is that the Liz that I know?

  4. Liz permalink
    August 12, 2008 9:48 pm

    I am honored to be in your blog!

Trackbacks

  1. Spectacle: Elvis Costello with the Police! report « ConfessionsOfAnITGirl.com

Leave a Reply

