Skip to content

Livin’ the rock ‘n roll lifestyle

July 30, 2008

We had just returned home from a weekend on the North Fork when the phone rang.  2:30pm.  Ish.

It was my friend Rina.  Rina asked what I was doing.  I told her nothing, thinking the next question would be if our girls wanted to have a playdate, which would have been fine.

It wasn’t that.

It was her offering me her husband’s ticket to see Bruce Springsteen with her that night.  Seems her oldest son was not feeling well, and they didn’t want to leave him home alone.

Umm…sounds good…let me talk to Mr. IT first.  Negociate as it were.  He’d have to take care of the kids solo, yet again. 

“NO.”

“But you didn’t even hear what I was asking.”

“Doesn’t matter.  NO.”

Apparently, Mr. IT had hit his breaking point.  Travel, working late, and the crazy “perfect storm” of concerts we’ve been in the past year had finally caused him to put his foot down. 

I protested a little, then I went to call Rina back.

“Wait.”

“What?”

“I’m fine with you going.  I just need to work through this.  I’m ok with it, I just need to say no a lot till I can get to yes.”

Did I mention he is the best husband in the world?  THE BEST! 

I’m totally working on recharging my stash of diaper whuffie to get me through next week. 

Wait.

What’s happening next week?

Well, since you asked, I’m seeing the Police.  Twice.

The first time will be Monday at Jones Beach.  I love seeing shows there.  Reminds me of fun times in high school and college.  I’m going with my college friend Liz.  Elvis Costello is opening.  When I bought the ticket, it was the last show of the Police’s second time around tour.  Then after I bought the tickets, they added another show the next day, making our show the penultimate show.  Then they added the big deal truly last show ever on August 7th at Madison Square Garden.  So that meant we were attending the penultimate Jones Beach show and the antepenultimate show of the tour, and ever. 

That was fine with me.  I saw them earlier in the summer, unexpectedly, at the Hollywood Bowl and saw them a good amount last year.  I could have gotten tickets for the MSG show but chose not to.

Then, I was looking on Stewart Copeland’s web site to see they had announced a concert for registered users to win a single ticket to the final show.  I don’t post on the site, and am a lurker in the community.  I joined to see set lists from the shows (why, I don’t know because they NEVER change, thanks to the rigidity of Mr. Sting.) Still, I’m registered as a user, and that was the only requirement.  Oh, that and being able to answer a specific question about Stewart that only a true fan (or someone who knew how to search the site) would know as a qualifier, and then asked for entries to be emailed with the winner to be announced in 2 weeks.  I sent in my answer and then forgot about it.

Last week, I got an email saying that I had won a ticket.  I didn’t quite believe it, but logging onto the site, I saw about 80 people who had also won.  Today, I picked up my single ticket at MSG’s box office.  I’m sitting in a side section next to the friggin stage!  Amazing!  I cannot believe my luck, and am so grateful this opportunity fell into my lap.   Thank you thank you thank you to Stewart Copeland and the folks who run his web site!

When I returned from the box office, I stopped by the bloodmobile truck outside of my office and made a donation.  Paying it forward as it were.  Whuffie must be accumulated by any means possible!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Suzanne Spinella permalink
    July 30, 2008 6:44 pm

    Well that is awesome. What a great summer. Yes Michael is the best husband in the world (next to mine 🙂 and I can totally hear him saying that!!

    Glad you paid it forward. It will come back to you. Enjoy the music, girl.

  2. Jenny "Don't Touch" Webb permalink
    July 30, 2008 7:14 pm

    You need to “pay it forward” some more, I think! See you soon in Jersey City.

  3. July 31, 2008 8:15 am

    Hey, call on me to lend a hand and give Mr.IT a break.
    After all, you need to fuel the fire of a “Rock N Roller”
    Please call on me and drop the ITs here.

  4. August 1, 2008 1:49 pm

    Thanks PVE, but I doubt Mr. IT would ever do it. I know the kids would have a blast, and maybe your boys could teach IT Boy a thing or two about pranks to play on a sister.

  5. August 12, 2008 12:08 pm

    I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you down the road!

Leave a Reply

