Skip to content

“The Mother at the Swings”

July 27, 2008

I’ve had a post in the queue for a little while about a beautiful piece that Susan Etlinger read at the BlogHer  Blogging About Our Children with Special Needs panel.  It’s called “The Mother at the Swings” and was written by a woman named Vicki Forman about her and her young son, and it’s a precious tale of talking to another mother at the swings about her son, who has multiple disabilities.  I met Vicki before the panel and was honored to hear her talk at the session.

Before it could be posted, I read on Susan Etlinger’s blog that Vicki’s son Evan passed away unexpectedly.  I cannot imagine what Vicki’s family and all the people who loved Evan are going through right now, but my heart goes out to all of them.  Do yourself a favor and read “The Mother at the Swings” and think of them and the love that Evan inspired.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2008 12:27 am

    Thanks, Ellen, I have been meaning to write. Going down to LA for the memorial tomorrow. XOXOXO

  2. July 28, 2008 7:17 am

    My heart has been touched over this poignant story of the Mother at the Swings. I will keep Vicki in my prayers. Thank-you for sharing this. All Mothers need to read this.

Leave a Reply

