Skip to content

Side effect of BlogHer – more great blogs to read

July 18, 2008

I just attended day 1 of BlogHer and I’m very happy to say it’s all I hoped it would be.

The last panel of the day (for me at least) was Mommyblogging: Mirrors: Ours, The Media’s, Our Cultures, Our Kids. The women who were on the panel were sharp, insightful, and very empowering.

People who know me know that my kids are everything.  Like many women my age, I didn’t grow up in an environment that made me feel confident about my body and myself.  I’m getting there, but it takes time.  My main goal with my son and daughter is to make them feel confident about themselves.  Strong, confident and healthy kids – nothing would make me prouder.  I know the biggest message I got in the session was that in order to break the cycle, I have to start accepting myself, and that will carry through, not just to my daughter but to my son as well.

Where to find inspiration for this idea?  You can’t do better than to start with the great blogs written by the women from this panel:

Mocha Momma

Empowering Girls

The Silent I

Body Impolitic

I got to chat with Tracee from Empowering Girls at the speakers information session.  Immediately I felt like she was one of my oldest friends.  She’s warm, funny and simply gorgeous in person.  I wish I could have time with all these women.

So many great quotes from this session.  So many great ideas.  Check out one or more of these blogs – you won’t be unmoved.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2008 10:17 am

    Why, oh why didn’t we get to speak? Could it be the overwhelming number of writers there? The need to speak to every.single.one of them?

    Couldn’t possibly be that. Please send me a message on Twitter because I need to add you and cannot find your link (you did me last weekend – yes, that sounds dirty but it’s E-A-R-L-Y and I need some juice).

    Wish we could have chatted, too.

  2. July 23, 2008 1:22 pm

    Hey there, MM…I wish we could have chatted too. You were mighty popular after your session.

    I was on the one who asked the question about what to do when other kids make comments about your kid that are out of line. I believe your answer was something to the tune of “never miss an opportunity to teach”, which certainly rang true and authentic to me and I will be taking with me in my travels for life.

    Good to have seen you and become acquainted with your blog, and here’s to meeting sometime in the future!

  3. July 30, 2008 10:54 pm

    Thanks so much Ellen. I loved doing the session and I’m so glad you got something out of it. I was so happy that you were one of the first people I met at BlogHer. Your openness totally put me at ease.

  4. September 22, 2008 12:46 am

    favorited this one, guy

Leave a Reply

