Skip to content

On the road again

June 19, 2008

More travel is in store for me in July.  BlogHer is the middle of the month, and that’s in San Francisco, thankfully.  Next Saturday, I leave for the Wiley EMEA (Europe, Middle East, and Africa) sales meeting.  It’s being held in Malta.  I’m flying through Rome, and on the way home, I’m going to stop and spend 4th of July weekend there.  I’ve never been, and I am quite excited.

I’ve got this fantasy of going with a tiny carry-on, but that’s not going to happen.  I’m probably going to take my small black rolling suitcase and call it a day.

Mr. IT has spent a bit of time in Malta for his prior job with Cunard.  When I asked him what there is to do on Malta, he said something about the sets from “Popeye” which are there.  When I asked what else there was, he reminded me about “Popeye”.  So if anyone has good hints for Malta, please let me know.  I won’t have much free time, but who knows.

Rome, on the other hand, I’m all about.  If you have any suggestions for cheap eats or ways to beat the tourists, bring it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2008 5:30 pm

    I spent a fabulous day in Malta in 2001, and liked it so much I persuaded my parents to detour there on their way to Rome recently. Coming into the harbor on the captain’s deck (courtesy of Mike Spring) was fabulous, and the sightseeing all over Malta was amazing. The food was great too. I am afraid (but I have said this before) that your husband has no soul. I will send you some recommendations. I don’t suppose you have ever read Dorothy Dunnett? Probably no time for you to read the Lymond books now.

  2. June 26, 2008 1:49 pm

    A good friend of mine has spent some time in Malta and highly recommends Surfside Pizza (http://www.surfsidemalta.com/) for authentic Italian pies, beautiful views, and a fun place to hang out.

    Overall, he said you can’t go wrong in Malta (he didn’t mention Popeye), but he said Valetta is an especially lovely place to walk or drive around — there are art and historic sites everywhere. He also recommended Mdina becuase it’s small and easy to get around.

    Have a wonderful trip!

  3. October 31, 2008 3:38 pm

    Now you know what Roosevelt and Churchill felt like when they met in Malta to discuss the war.

    Tom
    Sales Meeting

Trackbacks

  1. Malta » Baywatch at Ghadira

Leave a Reply

