Skip to content

Vote early and often

June 17, 2008

Maybe you don’t work in book publishing in the NYC.  But if you do, you’re well aware that at times it seems like there are not a lot of straight, single men working in the field.  Gawker has noticed this, and for the second year in a row is conducting the most tongue-in-cheek “Hottest Guy of Book Publishing 2008 Poll.”  As they said last year

It’s like shooting fish in a huge, huge barrel with not so very many fish in it.

or

skinniest girl at fat camp

Trust me, they know of what they speak.  I’m married with kids, so it’s an amusement, but as a straight-outta-college single gal, it really restricted the dating pool.  I can laugh about it now, but 20 years ago, not so much.

This year, I’m proud (not really sure that is the right word, but I’ll use it) to say there are two Wiley employees in the running.  And while I can’t say whether I voted for one of them or the cool-looking surfer dude, I can call your attention to the contest to drum up votes for one of these fine gentlemen.  Sure, this is about the most un-PC blog post you will see from me, but I’ve got to support our boys.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2008 1:00 pm

    I voted for the surfer dude. All the others looked too young to me!

  2. June 18, 2008 8:51 am

    I worked for a book publisher when I first graduated college. At first, I was woo-hoo — this is like the work equivalent of “Three’s Company,” but mostly I was used by my female co-workers for advice on what to do with their hopeless boyfriends. I think for the first year, everyone just assumed I was gay, even if I wasn’t.

  3. June 18, 2008 10:34 am

    Neil, I always say that working in book publishing killed my gaydar. It’s like putting a magnet next to a compass.

Leave a Reply

