Skip to content

and so it begins

May 29, 2008

If the lead up to Book Expo is any indication, this is going to be an interesting couple of days.

The flight was uneventful enough, but due to a strange collection of circumstances, my first stop leaving the airport was not to check into the hotel, but instead to settle into a seat at Hollywood Bowl to see Elvis Costello and The Police.  Yes, yes, I saw both acts last year, but…who cares!  The venue was beautiful and the performances even more so.   Elvis was wonderful, but it saddened me to see him as an opening act rather than the headliner that he truly is.  I try to think of this as a strong double bill, but Elvis playing in front of someone else’s equipment without effects made me feel like I was missing something.  Of course, he remedied that later in the evening, but that was a little too late for my jet-lagged brain to consider.  Sting, Stewart and Andy have only gotten better, and seemed to be having a blast.  That’s more than I can say for the lame-os at the Bowl – I actually got yelled at by a twentysomething for standing up and dancing.  Sheesh.

I started out the day getting my haircut.  Totally worth it, especially when a woman stopped me in FedEx and complimented me on her hair saying that’s the kind of cut she wants (it’s really not all that dramatic, btw.)  I then had a quick meeting with some partners, but made time before I hit the show floor to go to Sprinkles cupcakes get the cupcakes my friends are all raving about.  Yes, they were worth it.  Carrot cake for breakfast, red velvet for lunch.   Then, onto set up.  As I reminded my peeps, I was late, but I brought cupcakes, so everyone was happy. 

Even though you think the booth will never come together, it always seems to.  Tonight, we left it with some things left to do, but I think we’ll get it all done tomorrow.  Of course, we were not without a little drama.  I stopped at a cash machine and apparently left my ATM card in it.  Damn you BoA….  I also got a call from the babysitter that IT Boy had developed a weird rash all over.  Nothing seemed serious, but still, that’s the last thing you want to hear when you are thousands of miles away.  So, despite such inauspicious beginnings, I think we’re going to be ok.  Tweet you from BEA tomorrow!

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 4, 2008 8:19 pm

    I love Elvis too! I can’t believe I never knew that about you. I missed BEA and am glad it’s back in NY next year.

Leave a Reply

