Skip to content

Over the speed bump

May 20, 2008

IT Boy is making really good progress these days.  He’s walking, albeit only when we steady him into a standing position, but he can take a few steps by himself, which is huge.  He’s pointing up a storm, and learning to use his signs.  The only complaint I have is in the category of vocabulary.  Namely, his words for the family.  Seems that “dada” is now being supplemented by “papa”.  So, if you are keeping track at home, that makes:

Words that equal Daddy = 2

Words that equal Sister = 1

Words that equal Me = Zilch

I can be patient.  Really I can.  He’s got other words too:

Dog – said in response to anything with fur and four legs.  Bears, squirrels whatever.

Ball – whatever he wants to throw and hope that it rolls

Car – he now needs “man time” when we get home to walk around the car, feeling it and talking to the wheels.  This does not bode well for his midlife crisis.

Apple – said the other night, clear as a bell.  I did a 180 thinking it was Little IT, but it was him.

Door – we go in, we go out, you get the game

So, tomorrow is his collaboration meeting.  I expect no use of the “plateau” word, and only that he’s making great progress.  Or else. 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2008 6:40 pm

    Excellent for IT Boy. No worries on the Mama front. You know how it goes, this just means he loves you the best!

  2. Said Babysitter permalink
    May 21, 2008 7:16 pm

    Apple? I want to hear apple! Hey, at least he doesn’t start crying when you come within 500 ft of of him…

  3. sara permalink
    June 9, 2008 9:38 pm

    I don’t know how i missed this when you first posted but it’s the same exact thing with my little guy. I swear – he’s going to be fully walking and signing twinkle twinkle before he says mama. Oy.

  4. July 12, 2008 3:35 pm

    Hi there–I’m a short-time lurker, having just found your blog through the BlogHer site. I’m looking forward to your panel!

    I know you say you’re a stone-cold beeyatch, but your posts on IT Boy would seem to prove you wrong, But of course, kids will do that to you. 🙂 My daughter was born prematurely, pretty small (3#, 11), with low muscle tone. She ended up needing to go the EI route for PT, OT and speech. She didn’t walk until she was 22 months old but she’s 3.5 years old now and you can’t really tell. She has apraxia (even the spell-check doesn’t recognize it)and still goes to speech therapy three times a week. I think that, aside from having to watch her frustration, the hardest thing was when people would give that knowing “ooooh” when I said that she didn’t walk or talk. Sorry to ramble about me, but I’ve found so few people who have gone through the same things–few that were willing to blog about it, that is 🙂

    But I hope that IT Boy is like Charlotte and one day just gets up and starts walking. The downside–and upside–is that he’ll never stop, and then he’ll be like this (though minus the tutu and tights): http://www.leftcoastmom.com/2008/06/tutu-time.html

Leave a Reply

