Skip to content

Le Freak by Chic

April 29, 2008

Yesterday, I had my first, but probably not last freak out of this “week before sales meeting.”  I was trying to do something with a piece of clip art.  Seriously, it was something I’ve done before, but in my panicked haze, I couldn’t make it work.  A visit to Twitter had some people trying to talk me through the procedure, but it wasn’t until my friend Steve IMed me and held my hands through the procedure that I allowed myself to be talked off the ledge.  Thanks be to Twitter, because that did provide me with the solution.  But the freakout…no one can really help me with those.

It’s not like I haven’t been to a sales conference before.  We have 3 major ones a year, although this is the only one we travel for.   It just happens to come at the end of our fiscal year, when we have about 1,001 end of year deadlines.  So, in addition to working on powerpoints for presentions, AND coming up with agendas for sessions with channel managers, AND setting up meetings with my international counterparts, I’ve got to get performance appraisals and year end objectives done for myself and my team. 

It’s my job, so I’m not whining.  I just thought it would be helpful for anyone crossing my path to understand why my hair is standing on end, and why by Thursday I’ll be sitting at work in my comfy pants. 

That’s enough blogging.  Back to the grindstone!

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 29, 2008 10:55 pm

    I had my own corporate frustration rant on my blog just yesterday. Also drowning in the land of Sales & Marketing, I feel for you. Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

